LibGuides: SCoE: Organizational Leadership and Innovation: Graduate Student Resources

Dissertation Guide Books

Completing Your Evaluation Dissertation, Thesis, or Culminating Project by Tamara M. Walser; Michael S. Trevisan
ISBN: 9781544300009

Publication Date: 2020

This practical, user-friendly resource helps students successfully complete an evaluation capstone: a dissertation, thesis, or culminating project where a student conducts an evaluation as their capstone experience.
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation: Educational Research and Beyond by Halyna M. Kornuta; Ron W. Germaine
ISBN: 9780367174576

Publication Date: 2019

Provides clear, succinct, and intentional guidelines about organizing and writing a thesis or dissertation.
The Dissertation Journey by Laura Hyatt; Carol M. Roberts
ISBN: 9781071891285

Publication Date: 2023-09-13

In this fourth edition of their best-selling book, authors Laura Hyatt and Carol Roberts address the challenges that students will face as they journey to the peak of their academic career and complete their dissertation.
A Student Guide to Writing Research Reports, Papers, Theses and Dissertations by Cathal Ó Siochrú
ISBN: 9780367621032

Publication Date: 2022

This book provides all of the guidance, advice and tips key to writing successful research reports. Each section is broken down to ensure to explore the basics, helping to avoid common mistakes and offering tips for improvement.
Thesis and Dissertation Writing in a Second Language: A Handbook for Students and Their Supervisors by Brian Paltridge; Sue Starfield
ISBN: 9781138048706

Publication Date: 2019

Considering the purposes of thesis and dissertation of writing alongside writer/reader relationships, this book uses accessible language and practical examples to discuss issues that are crucial to successful thesis and dissertation writing.

Theoretical and Conceptual Frameworks

Applied Doctoral Center: Conceptual Framework (Section 1)
Information and guides on conceptual frameworks.
Dissertation Center: Chapter 1
Information and guides on theoretical and conceptual frameworks.
Researching Theoretical and Conceptual Frameworks
Learn how to effectively search for theoretical and conceptual frameworks both online and in the NU Library.
Theoretical & Conceptual Frameworks Guide
Techniques for identifying possible frameworks and theorists in the Library databases.
Theory Into Practice Database
Created by an educational psychologist, this site has information on many theories such as constructivism, experiential, criterion-referenced, etc. Also includes learning domains and concepts like mastery, motivation, and metacognition.

Educational Theory Books

Textbooks are a great place to identify theories and theorists for your discipline. Library handbooks and encyclopedias also can help you in this area. Start with the Library's Seminal Authors in Education Guide. You may also review some of the examples below:

Educational Theory in the 21st Century by Yusuf Alpaydın (Editor); Cihad Demirli (Editor)
ISBN: 9789811696398

Publication Date: 2022

Reviews the effects of the twenty-first century scientific-technological and social developments on the educational theory.
Education Reference Guide: Educational Theories by Editors of Salem Press
ISBN: 9781429841788

This volume offers an introduction to different philosophical and theoretical perspectives on education and their influence on academic performance and curriculum design.
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by D. C. Phillips (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452230894

Publication Date: 2014

Introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice.
Handbook of Contemporary Learning Theories by Robert R. Mowrer (Editor); Stephen B. Klein (Editor)
ISBN: 9780805833348

Publication Date: 2000

These 14 chapters deal with the theoretical perspectives concerning the nature of the learning process, as well as the innovative research that supports these positions.
The Handbook of Educational Theories by Beverly J. Irby
ISBN: 9781617358654

Publication Date: 2012

Practical examples are presented on the use of these theories in research from dissertations and published articles.
Learning Theories: A-Z by David C. Leonard
ISBN: 9780313011498

Publication Date: 2002

This book is a substantive dictionary of over 500 terms relating to learning theories and environments.
The SAGE Handbook of Critical Pedagogies by Shirley R. Steinberg (Editor); Barry Down (Editor)
ISBN: 9781526411488

Publication Date: 2020

Provides a unique approach and insight to the discipline by crossing a range of disciplines and articulating both philosophical and social common themes.

Seminal Authors

For more information about locating publications from seminal education authors, see the Seminal Education Authors Guide.

Research Methodology & Design

Applied Doctor Center: Section 2
Research Approach, Design, and Analysis
Dissertation Center: Chapter 3 Resources
Research Approach, Design, and Analysis
Finding Information on Research Methodology & Design
Learn how to locate reliable information relating to research methodology.
Research Methodology & Design Guide
This guide features NU Library resources for studying and planning research methodology and design.

Selected Dissertations

Learn how to find dissertations in the Library. See the FAQ: How can I find completed dissertations in the Library?

Examining Perceptions of Urban Academic Leaders’ and Teachers’ Development of Culturally Responsive Leadership: A Qualitative Case Study
This qualitative case study's focus relies on perspectives of urban school leaders’ and teachers’ who devote their time towards empowering students to shape positive profound relationships and meet them where they are educationally in culturally diverse populations. Author: Marquay Renee Davis, Northcentral University
Examining the Role of Servant-Leadership on the Culture and Climate of High Poverty Elementary Schools: A Qualitative Investigation
The purpose of this qualitative hermeneutic phenomenological study was to examine the role of servant leadership practices on the culture and climate of inner-city elementary schools, through staff members’ lived experiences. Author: Ricardia S. Lewis, Northcentral University
An Exploratory Case Study on the Underrepresentation of Hispanic Women in Superintendent Roles
The purpose of this qualitative exploratory case study was to examine the lived experiences of Hispanic women regarding their underrepresentation in superintendent positions in K–12 public education. Author: Nayeli Berenice Aranda Hernandez, National University
The Impact of Coaching Based Leadership on Mid-Level Leaders’ Preparation and Retention in Higher Education: A Qualitative Study
The qualitative exploratory case study approach was used to explore the need for a coaching based leadership (CBL) development program for mid-level leaders and its potential impact on retention and succession of MLL. Author: Leah A. Brown-Johnson, National University
Quantitative Analysis of Full-Range Leadership on Subordinate Employee Job Satisfaction and Supervisor Effectiveness in Higher Education
The purpose of this study was to examine the effects of leadership styles adopted by supervisors in higher education and how the implementation of these leadership styles may affect subordinate employee job satisfaction, and how the use of these leadership styles may affect ratings of supervisor effectiveness. Author: Daniel E. Atwood, Northcentral University
A Quantitative Study of the Correlation Between Education Program Completion and Employees’ Confidence in Managing the Social Climate for Consumer Engagement
The purpose of this quantitative, non-experimental, correlational study was to determine if a relationship exists between employees’ completion of the optional corporate education programs and the employees’ confidence in their abilities to recognize and mitigate threats to the social climate for consumer engagement. Author: Endya Danielle Perry, Northcentral University

Tests & Measurements

Applied Doctoral Center: Section 3
Example instruments and tools for data collection, IRB information, and data collection software options.
Dissertation Center: Chapter 4
Example instruments and tools for data collection, IRB information, and data collection software options.
Locating Tests and Measurements
Learn how to effectively locate test instruments within scholarly articles, dissertations, and specialized databases.
Tests & Measurements Guide
Techniques for finding tests and measurements in the Library.

SCoE: Organizational Leadership and Innovation

Doctoral Consultations

Helpful NU Resources