Skip to Main Content

ITI664: English Learner Achievement in Content Area: Find Research Articles

Find Articles

  Check out these discipline-specific databases. Limiting to specific disciplines can often help narrow search results.

Link to video tutorials, how-to guides, and other user aids developed by our database providers.

  These multidisciplinary databases will find articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines, trade journals, newspapers, etc.

  Related Databases

Here are some more specialized databases that you may be interested in:

Here are all education-related databases:

  Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.

Use the following sample searches as a basis for developing your own customized searches.

To focus on your own research questions, modify by:

Population Characteristics "second language" OR gifted OR "learning disab*" OR gender OR cultu* OR  ethnic* OR Asian... etc
Subject Area science OR mathematics OR reading... etc.
Grade Level kindergarten OR elementary OR middle school OR high school OR secondary... etc.
Possible Outcomes "student attitudes" OR motivation OR "academic achievement" OR rubrics... etc.

Search Terms Synonyms

Teaching Methods

  • pedagog*
  • teaching methods
  • instructional strategies
  • learning strategies
  • study & teaching
  • learning modalities
  • instructional design

 

For more strategies, see the glossary by Kelly Jo Rowan: Glossary

Learning Disabilities

  • learning disab*
  • children with disabilities
  • behavior problems
  • dyslexi*
  • ADHD
  • slow learning children
  • auditory processing disorder
  • language processing disorder
  • executive functioning

Second Language

  • English Language Learners (ELL)
  • English Language Development (ELD)
  • English as a second language (ESL)
  • language acquisition
  • English proficient
  • language proficiency
  • second language
  • limited English
  • bilingual education
  • dual language
  • second language acquisition
  • foreign speakers
  • non-native speakers

Inclusion

  • inclusive education
  • mainstreaming
  • mainstream classroom
  • least restrictive environment
  • mixed ability grouping

Age, Gender, & Ethnicity

The following examples are terms that could be used to describe group identity, cultural identity, or reference group.

  • early childhood or preschool or young children
  • kindergarten students
  • elementary or primary school students
  • middle school or junior high or intermediate students
  • secondary or high school students
  • teen* or adolesc* or youth
  • boys or girls
  • LGBT students
  • Arab
  • African American or Black
  • Asian
  • Hispanic or Latino or Latina
  • Jewish

Research
Adding research terms to a search can help you find research-based articles and certain kinds of studies. Below are a few examples.

  • methods
  • methodology
  • research study
  • action research
  • case study
  • correlation
  • empirical
  • qualitative
  • quantitative
  • single subject

Self-reflection terms to use with your personal educational philosophy or who you are as a teacher journaling:

  • Beliefs
  • Values
  • Self-awareness
  • Life Experience
  • Cultural Background (cultur*)
  • Cultural Competence
  • Educational Theories

Search Strategy Builder

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to help you create a search string using Boolean search operators. Input your search terms, click the button, and then copy and paste the results into a database search box (e.g., SmartSearch).

Concept 1 AND Concept 2 AND Concept 3
Name your concepts here
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words or short phrases

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

Now copy and paste the above Search Strategy into a database search box.

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.