Skip to Main Content

ITI670: Introduction to Social Emotional Learning: Finding Articles

Selected Articles

Baharav, H., Leos-Urbel, J., Obradovic, J., & Bardack, S. (2017). The educational success of homeless and highly mobile students in San Francisco Unified School District. Final Report. John W. Gardner Center for Youth and Their Communities. 

Beland, K. (2007). Social and emotional learning hikes interest and resiliency. Education Digest: Essential Readings Condensed for Quick Review, 72(9), 24–29.

McLaughlin, C. (2008). Emotional well-being and its relationship to schools and classrooms: A critical reflection. British Journal of Guidance & Counselling, 36(4), 353–366. https://doi.org/10.1080/03069880802364486.

Merrell, K. W. (2010). Linking prevention science and social and emotional learning: The Oregon Resiliency Project. Psychology in the Schools, 47(1), 55–70.

Poulou, M. (2007). Social resilience within a social and emotional learning framework: the perceptions of teachers in Greece. Emotional & Behavioural Difficulties, 12(2), 91–104. https://doi.org/10.1080/13632750701315482.

Vance, A., Pendergast, D., & Garvis, S. (2015). Teaching resilience: A narrative inquiry into the importance of teacher resilience. Pastoral Care in Education, 33(4), 195–204. http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/02643944.2015.1074265.

Werner, E. (2012). Risk, resilience, and recovery. Reclaiming Children and Youth, 21(1), 18–23

Below are selected articles on this topic. Use keyword "self-efficacy" in one of our education databases to find additional articles on this topic.

  1. Griggs, M. S., Rimm-Kaufman, S. E., Merritt, E. G., & Patton, C. L. (2013). The responsive classroom approach and fifth grade students’ math and science anxiety and self-efficacy. School Psychology Quarterly, 28(4), 360.
  2. Gündüz, B., & Çelıkkalelı, Ö. (2009). The role of academic efficacy belief, peer pressure and trait anxiety on adolescent aggressiveness. Inonu University Journal of the Faculty of Education (INUJFE), 10(2), 19–21.
  3. Hamed, H., Reyes, J., Moceri, D. C., Morana, L., & Elias, M. J. (2011). Girls leading outward. Educational Leadership, 68(7), 70–72. 
  4. Livaccari, C. (2013). Beyond linguistic proficiency: Early language learning as a lever for building students' global competence, self-esteem, and academic success. Learning Languages, 18(2), 14-15. 
  5. Ritchie, L., & Williamon, A. (2011). Primary school children’s self-efficacy for music learning. Journal of Research in Music Education, 59(2), 146–161. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022429411405214
  6. Schonert-Reichl, K. A. (2017). Social and emotional learning and teachers. Future of Children, 27(1), 137–155. 

Below are selected articles on this topic. Use keyword "mental health" in one of our education databases to find additional articles on this topic.

  1. Cook, C. R., Frye, M., Slemrod, T., Lyon, A. R., Renshaw, T. L., & Zhang, Y. (2015). An integrated approach to universal prevention: Independent and combined effects of PBIS and SEL on youths’ mental health. School Psychology Quarterly, 30(2), 166–183. https://doi.org/10.1037/spq0000102
  2. Hall, S. (2010). Supporting mental health and wellbeing at a whole-school level: Listening to and acting upon children’s views. Emotional & Behavioural Difficulties, 15(4), 323–339
  3. Lendrum, A., Humphrey, N., & Wigelsworth, M. (2013). Social and emotional aspects of learning (SEAL) for secondary schools: Implementation difficulties and their implications for school-based mental health promotion. Child and Adolescent Mental Health, 18(3), 158–164. https://doi.org/10.1111/camh.12006
  4. Thompson, E. (2016). SEL, mental health and learning. Leadership, 46(1), 36–38

Below are selected articles on this topic. Use keyword "executive functioning" in one of our education databases to find additional articles on this topic.

  1. Abenavoli, R. M., & Greenberg, M. T. (2014). Patterns of school readiness among low-income kindergarteners. Society for Research on Educational Effectiveness.
  2. Barr, D. A. (2018). When trauma hinders learning. Phi Delta Kappan, 99(6), 39–44. http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0031721718762421.
  3. Berard, N., Loutzenhiser, L., Sevigny, P. R., & Alfano, D. P. (2017). Executive function, social emotional learning, and social competence in school-aged boys with autism spectrum disorder. Canadian Journal of School Psychology, 32(3-4), 265-281. doi:http://dx.doi.org.nuls.idm.oclc.org/10.1177/0829573517707907.
  4. Daunic, A., Corbett, N., Smith, S., Barnes, T., Santiago-Poventud, L., Chalfant, P., ... & Gleaton, J. (2013). Brief report: Integrating social-emotional learning with literacy instruction: An intervention for children at risk for emotional and behavioral disorders. Behavioral Disorders, 39(1), 43-51. 
  5. Denham, S. A., Bassett, H. H., Zinsser, K., & Wyatt, T. M. (2014). How preschoolers’ social-emotional learning predicts their early school success: Developing theory-promoting, competency-based assessments. Infant and Child Development, 23(4), 426–454. http://dx.doi.org/10.1002/icd.1840.
  6. Samuels, C. A. (2018). Research feeds quest for balance in crafting of preschool curricula. Education Week, 38(10), 10.
  7. Smith, S., Daunic, A., Barber, B., Aydin, B., Loan, C., & Taylor, G. (2014). Preventing risk for significant behavior problems through a cognitive-behavioral intervention: Effects of the tools for getting along curriculum at one- year followup. Journal of Primary Prevention, 35(5), 371–387. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10935-014-0357-0.
  8. Wenz-Gross, M., Yoo, Y., Upshur, C. C., & Gambino, A. J. (2018). Pathways to kindergarten readiness: The roles of second step early learning curriculum and social emotional, executive functioning, preschool academic and task behavior skills. Frontiers in Psychology, 9, 1886. doi:10.3389/fpsyg.2018.01886.

Below are selected articles on this topic. Use keyword "mindfulness" in one of our education databases to find additional articles on this topic.

  1. Britton, W. B., Lepp, N. E., Niles, H. F., Rocha, T., Fisher, N. E., & Gold, J. S. (2014). A randomized controlled pilot trial of classroom-based mindfulness meditation compared to an active control condition in sixth-grade children. Journal of School Psychology, 52(3), 263–278. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jsp.2014.03.002.
  2. Burke, A., & Hawkins, K. (2012). Mindfulness in education. Encounter, 25(4), 36–40.
  3. Flook, L., Goldberg, S. B., Pinger, L., & Davidson, R. J. (2015). Promoting prosocial behavior and self-regulatory skills in preschool children through a mindfulness-based kindness curriculum. Developmental Psychology, 51(1), 44–51.
  4. Garner, P. W., Bender, S. L., & Fedor, M. (2018). Mindfulness-based SEL programming to increase preservice teachers’ mindfulness and emotional competence. Psychology in the Schools, 55(4), 377–390.
  5. Jennings, P. A. (2018). Bringing mindfulness to teacher PD: By developing their own social-emotional skills, teachers can be more powerfully present in the classroom. Educational Leadership, 76(2), 64–68.
  6. Lawlor, M. S. (2014). Mindfulness in practice: Considerations for implementation of mindfulness-based programming for adolescents in school contexts. New Directions for Youth Development, 2014(142), 83–95. https://doi.org/10.1002/yd.20098.

Below are selected articles on this topic. Use keyword "growth mindset" in one of our education databases to find additional articles on this topic.

  1. Baharav, H., Leos-Urbel, J., Obradovic, J., & Bardack, S. (2017). The Educational Success of Homeless and Highly Mobile Students in San Francisco Unified School District. Final Report. John W. Gardner Center for Youth and Their Communities. 
  2. Glennie, E. J., Rosen, J. A., Snyder, R., Woods-Murphy, M., & Bassett, K. (2017). Student social and emotional development and accountability: Perspective of teachers. National Network of State Teachers of the Year. 1-22.
  3. Hamedani, M. G., & Darling-Hammond, L. (2015, March). Social emotional learning in high school: How three urban high schools engage, educate, and empower youth. Stanford Center for Opportunity Policy in Education. 1- 15.
  4. Herold, B. (2018). Pearson tests growth-mindset messages in software. Education Week, 37(29), 8.
  5. Myers, C. A., Wang, C., Black, J. M., Bugescu, N., & Hoeft, F. (2016). The matter of motivation: Striatal resting- state connectivity is dissociable between grit and growth mindset. Social cognitive and affective neuroscience, 11(10), 1521-1527. https://doi-org.nuls.idm.oclc.org/10.1093/scan/nsw065.

Below are selected articles on this topic. Use keyword "grit" in one of our education databases to find additional articles on this topic.

1. Cranston, A. (2016). Leveling the playing field through social emotional learning: Cultivating grit in expanded learning programs. Leadership, 46(1), 16–21.

2. McKibben, S. (2018). Grit and the greater good: A conversation with Angela Duckworth: The nation’s foremost expert on grit says being a “good” person is more imperative than being “great” at something. Educational Leadership, 76(2), 40–45.

3. Ozelli, K. (2016). The great grit debate. Scientific American Mind, 27(4), 17. https://doi.org/10.1038/scientificamericanmind0716-17.

4. Steiner-Adair, C. (2013). Got grit? The call to educate smart, savvy, and socially intelligent students. Independent School, 72(2) n2.

5. Weissberg, R. P., & Cascarino, J. (2013). Academic learning + social-emotional learning = national priority. Phi Delta Kappan, 95(2), 8–13.

Below are selected articles on this topic. Use keyword "culturally responsive teaching" in one of our education databases to find additional articles on this topic.

 

  1. Butler, L. P., & Tomasello, M. (2016). Two- and 3-year-olds integrate linguistic and pedagogical cues in guiding inductive generalization and exploration. Journal of Experimental Child Psychology, 145, 64–78. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jecp.2015.12.001.
  2. Castro-Olivo, S. M. (2014). Promoting social-emotional learning in adolescent latino ELLs: A study of the culturally adapted strong teens program. School Psychology Quarterly, 29(4), 567–577. https://doi.org/10.1037/spq0000055 
  3. Glynn, T. (2013). From responsive social learning contexts to culturally responsive pedagogy: Contributions from early New Zealand research. Waikato Journal of Education, 18(2), 11–24.
  4. Graves, S. L., Jr., & Aston, C. (2018). A mixed-methods study of a social emotional curriculum for Black male success: A school-based pilot study of the Brothers of Ujima. Psychology in the Schools, 55(1), 76–84. https://doi.org/10.1002/pits.22088.
  5. Mitchell, D., Hinueber, J., & Edwards, B. (2017). Looking race in the face: Schools that achieve strong results with black students address race directly and teach in ways that empower students to learn. Phi Delta Kappan, 98(5), 24– 29. https://doi.org/10.1177/0031721717690361.
  6. Sciuchetti, M. B. (2017). Addressing inequity in special education: An integrated framework for culturally responsive social emotional practice. Psychology in the Schools, 54(10), 1245–1251. https://doi.org/10.1002/pits.22073.
  7. U. S. Department of Education, Office of English Language Acquisition. (2016). How do we support newcomers’ social emotional needs? In Newcomer Tool Kit. Washington, DC: Author.

Tools for Finding Research Articles

Best Bet Databases

EBSCO and ProQuest provide access to online journals, magazines, newspapers, and e-books. They each have bundles of education and psychology databases you can use here to find academic articles.

Database Search Help
Access video tutorials, how-to guides, and other user aids developed by our database providers.

Why use Articles?

Articles provide highly specific information on a topic and are often the first place where new research is discussed. Use discipline databases to find news, trade, professional, and academic articles. The articles published in scholarly, academic journals are often peer-reviewed.

What is Peer Review?

Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.

Primary Research

Primary research articles are original reports of new research findings. The best way to find an original (primary) research article is to use a library database. Here you will find materials not freely available on the web. Most databases let you limit your searches to articles from peer-reviewed journals published within a certain date range. You will still need to review each article to determine if the author(s) conducted an original study.

Smart Search

This tool great for searching across the Library for articles, books, videos, and journals quickly. You can limit your searches to peer-reviewed articles, but our education databases offer more search options and better coverage of education topics.

Document Delivery Services for Articles

Google Scholar

This web search engine can quickly lead you to scholarly literature. But keep in mind, results are not screened for quality and full text is not available for every result. To have Google Scholar search National University Library databases, you'll need to link your Google account to the library.

Google Scholar Search

Follow the instructions below or watch this quick video to search the Library through Google Scholar!

1. In Google Scholar, go to the Settings.

2. Click "Library Links" on the left side.

3. Search for "NULS".

4. Check the box next to "National University - Get it@NULS" and click "Save".

5. Search results will now include links to materials in National University Library.

Developing Effective Database Searches

How to Focus the Search

Adding another concept to the search will make it more specific. Use search terms that represent another facet your research topic, such as a person, place or thing:

Population characteristic gifted, second language learner, deaf and hard of hearing, cultural group, ethnicity, etc.
Population group boys, girls, males, females, children, adolescents, teens, teenagers, youth, etc.
Subject area science, mathematics, reading, etc.
Grade level preschool, kindergarten, elementary school, middle school, high school, etc.
Location or setting classroom, school, home, community, United States, etc.

You might also consider using search terms that reflect possible outcomes such as student attitudes, student motivation, achievement, or rubrics.

Use of peer-review will limit results to scholarly, evidence-based articles.  It will also eliminate all ERIC Documents (ED#s) from the results list.

Create a Search Statement

The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to help you create a search string using Boolean search operators. Input your search terms, click the button, and then copy and paste the results into a database search box (e.g., SmartSearch).

  Concept 1 and Concept 2 and Concept 3
Name your concepts here    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words, or "short phrases" in quotes

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License.

Putting the Search Together

  • Go to the Advanced Search Screen and follow the model below.
  • In the first search box, enter a keyword or phrase that represents a central idea from your research topic.
  • In the second search box, enter a keyword or phrase that represents a subtopic.

  • To narrow your topic, add additional search boxes to experiment with other key ideas.

Example:

  • Big idea student development
  • Focus on major subtopic teacher role
  • Narrow focus to issue or problem compassion or empathy


Search String:

DE "student development" AND ( teach* OR learn* ) AND ( compassion OR empathy OR kindness OR caring )

Need a Primary Research Study?

Try searching with research terms. Set the database to look for your keywords in the Abstract or Summary. While this doesn't guarantee that every search result will contain a primary research study, it will help eliminate other kinds of articles. See Recognize Research Articles for more information on how to identify primary research.

Example:

  • Big idea emotional development
  • Focus on major subtopic family or parental impact
  • Narrow focus to research or study: action research

 

Search String:

emotional development AND ( family OR families OR parent* OR sibling* ) AND AB action research 

Helpful Handouts and Videos