LibGuides: ITL516: Mathematics Integrative Design: Recommended Databases

Find Articles

Best Bets!
Check out these discipline-specific databases for educational research. Focusing on specific disciplines can often help narrow search results.

EBSCO Databases for Educators
Content: ERIC, Academic Search Complete, APA PsycInfo, Professional Development Collection, SocINDEX with Full Text, and Education Research Complete

Purpose: Find articles covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties in this database group.
ProQuest Education Database
Content: Includes full-text scholarly journals and dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.

Purpose: Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

Link to video tutorials, how-to guides, and other user aids developed by our database providers.

Additional Databases
Searching in a different database will often help you find additional articles.

All Education Databases
A-Z list of all education databases for college-level research.

Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.

Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form
Books not owned by the National University Library may be requested from other libraries. Course textbooks may not be requested through Interlibrary Loan service.
Journal Direct Article Request Form
You may request that articles only available in print format at the Library be sent to you electronically. This is a free service. Articles sent within 24 hours.
ScienceDirect Article Request
This collection has 477 journals published by Elsevier. Limit your search by "Subscribed journals" to see the full-text articles. If you see an abstract that you are interested in, click on "Get Access" to request the article from the Library.

Why use Articles?

Articles provide highly specific information on a topic and are often the first place where new research is discussed. Use discipline databases to find news, trade, professional, and academic articles. The articles published in scholarly, academic journals are often peer-reviewed.

What is Peer Review?

Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.

Brief Glossary:

Academic: Refers to the audience of a publication
Scholarly: Refers to the audience of a publication
Refereed: Articles are monitored before publication
Peer-Review: "Blind review" by scholars and experts

Peer Review Guide
Scholarly Checklist
Tips on how to verify research articles.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles Video

What is Primary Research?

Primary research articles are original reports of new research findings. The best way to find an original (primary) research article is to use a library database. Here you will find materials not freely available on the web. Most databases let you limit your searches to articles from peer-reviewed journals published within a certain date range. You will still need to review each article to determine if the author(s) conducted an original study.

Constructing an Effective Search

Begin with the BIG IDEA.
Think of search terms that represent one or two of the key ideas in your topic.
Try adding another key idea to narrow your topic: an intervention strategy, a specific population, or a phrase such as program effectiveness.

Need an article from a specific journal? Use the box below to see if our library has the journal you're interested in.

Browse e-journals by title

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Browse e-journals by subject