LibGuides: ITL600: Becoming a Teacher: Teaching Philosophy Resources

Additional Library Resources for Inspired Teaching Philosophy

Educational Philosophy Practice-based Searches

Find journal articles on:

To begin your own search, use one of the education database collections below:

EBSCO Databases for Educators
Content: ERIC, Academic Search Complete, APA PsycInfo, Professional Development Collection, SocINDEX with Full Text, and Education Research Complete

Purpose: Find articles covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties in this database group.

Philosophy of Education Background Overviews

Selected encyclopedia articles from online reference collections:

From Gale Virtual Reference Library:
- Philosophy of Education [Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education]
- Philosophy of Education [Encyclopedia of Education]
From Credo Reference
- Philosophy of Education, History of [Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia]
- More from Credo

Philosophy of Education Terms

Dictionaries are a good place to find definitions of terms. Educational dictionaries provide definitions from the field of practice. Use the following online dictionary available through the Library to find the educational philosophy terms discussed in this class:

Collins, J. W., & O'Brien, N. P. (Eds.). (2011). The Greenwood Dictionary of Education (2nd ed.). Westport, CT: Greenwood. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Perennialism
Essentialism
Behaviorism
Progressivism
Humanism
Existentialism
Reconstructionism
Postmodernism (Critical Theory)

Using the same dictionary, you can search the broad schools of philosophical thought:

Idealism
Realism
Pragmatism
Existentialism

Search for more dictionaries from the Library Catalog.