SoALS: Music

Content: An online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

Purpose: A specialized database for information about and research on music.

Content: An online database for art and art history including scholarly and peer reviewed articles.

Purpose: A specialized database for information about and research on art and art history topics.

Special Features: Resources for art educators

Content: Full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Purpose: Database for humanities and social science students.

Content: JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. National University subscribes to these JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections: I - IX. 

Purpose: JSTOR is an archive of core research journals containing the full text of scholarly journals. Some of the journal issues go back to the 19th century, but there is a gap of typically 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR. To locate recent issues of a journal, use the Library Catalog or Online Journal List. 

Special Features: Create an account to sign up to try JSTOR’s interactive research tool in beta. 

Help using this database.

Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.

Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.

Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search

Content: Scholarly journals, academic content, periodicals and videos covering a broad range of academic disciplines.

Purpose: A good starting point for research with coverage across many disciplines and fields.

Special Features: Text-to-speech listening feature. Tool to help discover citing articles.

Help using this database.

Content: The most comprehensive video database covering more than 67,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more.

Purpose: Curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.

Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.

Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.

Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature. AI research assistant on the full text page with key takeaways.

Content: Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles only, in health science, biomedical science, engineering, social science, and the humanities. 

Purpose: Use for scholarly research in most fields. 

Special Features: Includes discipline hubs for browsing and citation search.