LibGuides: COM402: Module 2

Module 2 Required Resources

Textbook

Communication Technology Update and Fundamentals
Grant, A. E., & Meadows, J. H. (Eds.). (2022). Communication technology update and fundamentals (18^th ed.). Routledge. ISBN 978-1-884154-45-4

Read Chapters 6-9.
- This comprehensive text covers the full gamut of communication technologies, from their earliest forms to today’s.

Your course textbook can be accessed via the DART eBook link in the Getting Started module.

Articles

Early Broadcast Media

News Broadcasting Censorship
Donnelly, G. (2023). News broadcasting censorship. Salem press encyclopedia. Research Starters. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=ers&AN=102082336&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
- Because broadcasts are electromagnetic waves carried through the air over a finite number of frequencies, the government has controlled and regulated broadcasters and their content since the beginning. To this day, broadcast media are regulated and must adhere to decency standards enforced by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), a government agency.

Radio and Television

Radio and Television
Radio and television. (2016). In N. Balaban & J. Bobick, Handy answer: The Handy technology answer book (1^st ed.). Visible Ink Press. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NDIwNjM5MA==?q=radio+and+television&aid=102577
- Although we consider them older forms of electronic media, radio and television utilize the same broadcast technology that powers modern media, such as HD Radio and RFID technology. The development of digital technology has dramatically improved the precision of broadcast signals and transformed the way we consume media. This brief piece makes interesting connections between older and newer technology, illustrating that advancements aren’t always clear and linear.

Film, Brief History

Film: An Overview
Doherty, T. (2021). Film: An overview. In S. P. Holland (Ed.), Encyclopedia of American studies (1^st ed.). Johns Hopkins University Press. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NjY5MDY=?aid=102577
- The invention of film heralded a new era of information and entertainment in which the United States, which was the first to adopt the technology on a large scale, became a world leader. Early American film spread American culture across the globe. And across the developed world, film was quickly adopted by political and thought leaders as an agent of propaganda and cultural assimilation.

Digital Media and Audience Fragmentation

Investigating the Effect of Selective Exposure, Audience Fragmentation, and Echo-chambers on Polarization in Dynamic Media Ecosystems
Rabb, N., Cowen, L., & de Ruiter, J. P. (2023). Investigating the effect of selective exposure, audience fragmentation, and echo-chambers on polarization in dynamic media ecosystems. Applied Network Science, 8(78). https://appliednetsci.springeropen.com/articles/10.1007/s41109-023-00601-3
- Research shows that the process of media polarization is not as simple and straightforward as was once thought. There are several additional factors that less directly encourage the polarization of ideas. They include how widespread the belief is across the target population, the population’s susceptibility to new ideas, and the penetration of the idea across the population.

Module 2 Optional Resources

Telecommunications
Telecommunications. (2019). In Encyclopedia of Management (8^th ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1092-1094). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX7617900305/GVRL?u=nu_main&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=f26edd93
- Telecommunciations is a specific subset of communication technology. Because telecommunications have been nearly ubiquitous in developed societies since the invention of the telegraph, they have long been compared to public utilities. This has resulted in decades of government regulation and shifting roles for private industry.

Early Broadcast Media

Broadcasting
Helicon (Ed.). (2018). Broadcasting. In The Hutchinson unabridged encyclopedia with atlas and weather guide. Helicon. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NTEzOTcx?summaryArticle=true&aid=102577
- Broadcast history is not limited to the United States. This brief history of broadcast is from a British perspective.

Radio and Television

Radio
Radio. (2021). Radio. Funk & Wagnalls new world encyclopedia. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=funk&AN=ra003700&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
- Radio is carried over electromagnetic waves. This is an overview of the electromagnetic spectrum, describing frequencies (hertz) and wavelengths. The coverage area of different radio bands (i.e., AM, FM, shortwave) and television bands (i.e., VHF and UHF) is determined by the wavelength.
Radio
Radio. (2018). In P. Lagasse & Columbia University. The Columbia encyclopedia (8^th ed.). Columbia University Press. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NjEyNDAw?q=radio+and+television&aid=102577
- Want to know more about how radio waves work? This deep dive into the transmission and reception of radio waves explains the basics of broadcast technology.
Television
Television. (2022). Funk & Wagnalls new world encyclopedia. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=funk&AN=te026300&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
- Television added a visual element to broadcast signals. The technology used to create television signals was later used to develop and improve nonbroadcast technologies such as cable and satellite television, teleconferencing and recording equipment, weather and space satellite surveillance, and medical imaging. Although broadcast technology is more than a century old, its applications remain current to this day.
Television
Television. (2018). In P. Lagasse & Columbia University, The Columbia encyclopedia (8^th ed.). Columbia University Press. https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NjMxMjM2?q=radio+and+television&aid=102577
- The invention and improvement of scanning technology first used in the production of television sets later helped improve imaging in applications from cathode ray television tubes to liquid crystal displays (LCD) and light-emitting diodes (LEDs).

Digital Media and Audience Fragmentation

The Backbone Structure of Audience Networks: A New Approach to Comparing Online News Consumption Across Countries
Majó-Vázquez, S., Nielsen, R. K., & González-Bailón, S. (2019). The backbone structure of audience networks: A new approach to comparing online news consumption across countries. Political Communication, 36(2), 227-240. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.tandfonline.com%2Fdoi%2Ffull%2F10.1080%2F10584609.2018.1546244
- Comparing news consumption across countries with different broadcast systems, rules, and regulatory oversight has long been an imperfect science. This article proposes different approaches to measuring and comparing how various populations consume news and information across platforms.

Packback Resources

How Do I Connect My Packback Grade to MY Course's Gradebook in Blackboard, Canvas, D2L-Brightspace, Moodle, Etc.?
Packback. (2021). How do I connect my Packback grade to my course's gradebook in Blackboard, Canvas, D2L-Brightspace, Moodle, etc.? Packback. https://help.packback.co/hc/en-us/articles/4405489994139-How-do-I-connect-my-Packback-grade-to-my-course-s-gradebook-in-Blackboard-Canvas-D2L-Brightspace-Moodle-etc
- Your grade in Packback should automatically sync to your gradebook in Brightspace. This article discusses this feature.
How Do I Create a Good Quality Post?
Packback. (2017).How do I create a good quality post?. Packback. https://help.packback.co/hc/en-us/articles/115000684052-How-do-I-create-a-good-quality-post-
- This article discusses Packback-approved questions.
Student Support
Packback. (n.d.). Student support. Packback. https://help.packback.co/hc/en-us/categories/203990168-Student-Support
- This website provides help with your account, navigating Packback, Packback instruct, registering for your community, creating a post, grading and curiosity points, and much more.
Where Can I Find My Community Questions and Responses that I've Posted?
Packback. (2018). Where can I find my community questions and responses that I've posted?. Packback. https://help.packback.co/hc/en-us/articles/360021187112-Where-can-I-find-my-community-questions-and-responses-that-I-ve-posted-
- This article discusses how you can access your Learner Profile and where you can find your published posts.
Where Can I Find My Drafts?
Packback. (2019). Where can I find my drafts? . Packback. https://help.packback.co/hc/en-us/articles/360035199391-Where-can-I-find-my-drafts-
- This article discusses how to access, save, delete, and see your drafts.
Why Is My Post Missing From My Community
Packback. (2019). Why is my post missing from my community?. Packback. https://help.packback.co/hc/en-us/articles/360031482031-Why-is-my-post-missing-from-my-community-
- "If after you've posted in your community and later notice that you're unable to find it, this article will help walk you through understanding what could have happened to it and what you can you do to republish it" (Packback, 2019).
Why Am I Receiving This Error: 400 “Enable Cookies”?
Packback. (2019). Why am I receiving this error: 400 "Enable Cookies"? Packback. https://help.packback.co/hc/en-us/articles/5889017585947-Why-am-I-receiving-this-error-400-Enable-Cookies
- This article covers troubleshooting a 400 "Enable Cookies" error in Brightpsace.