FIN-7012 v1

Tuckman, B., & Serrat, A. (2022). (i)Fixed income securities: Tools for today's marketsi (4th ed.). Wiley.
Students should read Chapters 3-4, 7, and 14 in "Fixed Income Securities: Tools for Today's Markets" by Tuckman and Serrat because it provides comprehensive coverage of bond valuation fundamentals, including present value calculations, yield measures, and credit risk assessment. The book offers practical insights into bond pricing models, term structure analysis, and the relationship between interest rates and bond values. This resource is essential for understanding the theoretical foundation and practical applications of debt valuation, incorporating recent market developments and regulatory changes affecting corporate bond markets. The selected chapters provide the necessary background for developing sophisticated valuation models and understanding how bond characteristics influence pricing.

Fabozzi, F. J. and F. A. Fabozzi (2021). Bond Markets, Analysis, and Strategies (10th ed.). MIT Press.
Students should read Chapters 1 - 6 (Bond Pricing and Yields, Term Structure, Bond Price Volatility) because they provide in-depth explanations of corporate bond structures and pricing models, with practical examples relevant for financial managers. This textbook is a gold standard in advanced debt valuation, pricing methodology, and corporate bond analysis for graduate finance programs

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. The Rise (and fall) of Inflation During the Early 2020s. https://files.stlouisfed.org/files/htdocs/publications/page1-econ/2023/08/25/the-rise-and-fall-of-inflation-during-the-early-2020s_SE.pdf
Students should read "The Rise (and fall) of Inflation During the Early 2020s" by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis because it provides valuable insights into the economic phenomenon of inflation during a specific period. Understanding inflation is crucial for students studying corporate finance as it directly impacts financial markets, investment decisions, and economic policies. This report offers a comprehensive analysis of the factors contributing to the rise and fall of inflation during the early 2020s, providing students with a deeper understanding of macroeconomic trends and their implications for corporate finance. By examining this report, students can gain valuable knowledge about inflation dynamics, which can inform their financial decision-making and risk management strategies in a dynamic economic environment. Additionally, the report may stimulate critical thinking and discussions about monetary policy, central banking, and their effects on corporate finance and business operations.

Merton, R. C. (1974). On the pricing of corporate debt: The risk structure of interest rates. Journal of Finance, 29(2), 449–470. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2978814
Students should read this foundational article because it introduces the structural approach to valuing risky corporate debt. Merton’s framework provides the theoretical underpinnings of credit risk, bond pricing, and default probabilities. Understanding this model is essential for students learning how corporate debt is valued in both academic theory and practical application.

Chen, L., Lesmond, D. A., & Wei, J. (2007). Corporate yield spreads and bond liquidity. The journal of finance, 62(1), 119-149. https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1111/j.1540-6261.2007.01203.x
Students should read this article because it empirically examines factors driving corporate bond spreads, including credit risk, liquidity, and market conditions. The findings help students understand how theoretical valuation models are influenced by real-world variables, making it directly relevant to corporate finance managers tasked with debt issuance and valuation.

Leland, H. E. (1994). Corporate debt value, bond covenants, and optimal capital structure. The Journal of Finance, 49(4), 1213-1252.
Students should read "Corporate Debt Value, Bond Covenants, and Optimal Capital Structure" by Leland because it extends Merton's basic framework to incorporate realistic features of corporate bonds, including finite maturity, coupon payments, and bankruptcy costs. The paper provides crucial insights into how bond covenants and capital structure decisions affect debt valuation, demonstrating the interaction between optimal capital structure theory and bond pricing. This work is essential for understanding how practical considerations such as protective covenants, sinking funds, and call provisions influence bond values and how these features should be incorporated into comprehensive valuation models. https://research.ebsco.com/c/udgvh3/search/details/56ymstupj5

Schenker. J. (2019). What is Inflation? In Economic Indicators. LinkedIn Learning. [Video]. https://www.linkedin.com/learning-login/share?account=2168252&forceAccount=false&redirect=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.linkedin.com%2Flearning%2Feconomic-indicators%2Fwhat-is-inflation%3Ftrk%3Dshare_video_url%26shareId%3DRMBVe%252FrvT56QVPTN3umk4w%253D%253D
Students should watch assigned sections of "What is Inflation?" by Jonathan Schenker on LinkedIn Learning. You can select each section in the table of contents in the left navigation pane in the video.
• What are economic reports
• The importance of economic reports
• Impact on sectors and companies
• Impact on jobs and professional ops
• What is inflation
• Pulling inflation indicators together
• Producer price index
• What is fiscal policy?
• Leading indicators
This training video provides a comprehensive overview of inflation, a fundamental concept in economics and finance. Understanding inflation is essential for students studying corporate finance as it influences interest rates, investment decisions, and purchasing power. This video explains the causes and effects of inflation, its measurement, and its impact on financial markets and business operations. By watching this video, students can gain a clear understanding of inflation dynamics and learn how to interpret economic indicators related to inflation. Additionally, the video offers practical insights and examples that can help students apply their knowledge of inflation to real-world financial scenarios.

Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. (2024). Corporate bond yields. FRED Economic Data. https://fred.stlouisfed.org/categories/32348
Students should utilize the FRED Corporate Bond Yields database because it provides access to comprehensive historical and current yield data essential for empirical bond valuation exercises. This resource offers real-time market data including corporate bond yield indices, credit spreads, and benchmark rates that students can use for practical applications of valuation models. Understanding how to access, interpret, and analyze market data is crucial for developing accurate valuation models and conducting empirical research. The database supports hands-on learning by providing the actual market data needed to calibrate models and test theoretical predictions.

Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association. (2025). US corporate bonds statistics. https://www.sifma.org/resources/research/statistics/us-corporate-bonds-statistics
Students should access SIFMA's Corporate Bond Statistics because it provides comprehensive market data on issuance trends, outstanding amounts, trading volumes, and market composition for US corporate bonds. This resource offers valuable context for understanding the size, structure, and evolution of the corporate bond market, which is essential background for valuation analysis. The data helps students understand market dynamics, liquidity patterns, and structural changes that affect bond pricing and provides real-world context for theoretical valuation models.

NU Academic Success Center. (n.d.). Learning about synthesis analysis.
This page from the NU Academic Success Center includes three tabs for learning what synthesis and analysis mean, how to synthesize and analyze, and opportunities to practice with additional handouts and workshops.

National University Academic Success Center. (n.d.). APA style 7th edition overview.
This website provides a quick overview of APA 7th edition writing requirements.

National University. (2023, October 20). APA 7th edition student paper template. https://resources.nu.edu/writingresources/studentpapertemplate

Fabozzi, F. J. and F. A. Fabozzi (2021). Bond Markets, Analysis, and Strategies (10th ed.). MIT Press.
Students should read Chapters 1 - 6 (Bond Pricing and Yields, Term Structure, Bond Price Volatility) because they provide in-depth explanations of corporate bond structures and pricing models, with practical examples relevant for financial managers. This textbook is a gold standard in advanced debt valuation, pricing methodology, and corporate bond analysis for graduate finance programs