Skip to Main Content

ANA500

Lesson 1 Resources

What is Data Science?

Please be sure to scroll through the entire libguide to review all of your resources

Python Data Science Handbook
VanderPlas, J. (2017). Python data science handbook. O'Reilly Media, Inc.
Read the Preface. The preface of this book provides the reader with a brief history of the data science field, and the adoption of python by data scientists as their primary tool to completing data science projects. The author also lists the skills one should aim at developing to be an effective data scientist.

Generating Data

Python Crash Course
Matthes, E. (2019). Python crash course (2nd ed.). No Starch Press.
Read: Chapter 15
Python Crash Course - Alt. link
Matthes, E. (2019). Python crash course (2nd ed.). No Starch Press.

Setting up your system for the course

Set Up Instructions
Instructions to set up your system with the requisite software for the course.

Data Sources

Data Sources
List of several data sources.

Student Resources

Library research guide for ANA
Student Resources for Data Science

Lesson 2 Resources

IPython: Beyond Normal Python

Python Data Science Handbook
VanderPlas, J. (2017). Python data science handbook. O'Reilly Media, Inc.
Read: Chapter 1
Python Data Science Handbook Alt link
VanderPlas, J. (2017). Python data science handbook. O'Reilly Media, Inc.

Working with APIs

Python Crash Course
Matthes, E. (2019). Python crash course (2nd ed.). No Starch Press.
Read: Chapter 17
Python Crash Course - Alt link
Matthes, E. (2019). Python crash course (2nd ed.). No Starch Press.

SoTE: Data Science Research Guide

Library research guide for ANA
Student Resources for Data Science

Lesson 3 Resources

Python Reading

Python Data Science Handbook Alt link
VanderPlas, J. (2017). Python data science handbook. O'Reilly Media, Inc.
Read: Chapter 2, Introduction to to NumPy.
Read: Chapter 3, Data Manipulation with Pandas.