PSY-5706 v3

Barnett, J. E. (2020). Ethical, legal, and professional issues in consultation for psychologists. In C. A. Falender & E. P. Shafranske (Eds.), Consultation in psychology: A competency-based approach. (pp. 53–70). American Psychological Association.
This book, particularly Chapter 3 (Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Consultation for Psychologists), is highly relevant because it provides a comprehensive look at competence-based practices in psychology, which aligns with the assignment's requirement to provide competence-based recommendations. This chapter addresses the core issues of competence, ethics, and legal responsibilities in consultation. It emphasizes the necessity of possessing and maintaining the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and values essential for providing effective and ethical consultation, which directly aligns with the assignment’s focus on making competence-based recommendations for Denise. Additionally, the chapter covers critical topics such as informed consent, confidentiality, and the importance of understanding one’s professional limits, ensuring that students are well-equipped to provide recommendations that adhere to the APA ethical standards.

Gola, J. A., Beidas, R. S., Antinoro-Burke, D., Kratz, H. E., & Fingerhut, R. (2016). Ethical considerations in exposure therapy with children. Cognitive and Behavioral Practice, 23(2), 184–193.
This article is directly relevant because one of the recommendations for Denise involves exposure therapy for her anxiety. Understanding ethical considerations is crucial for making an informed and ethical recommendation.

Tadesse, M. E. (2017). Martial arts and adolescents: Using theories to explain the positive effects of Asian martial arts on the well-being of adolescents. Ido Movement for Culture. Journal of Martial Arts Anthropology, 17(2), 9–23.
This article is relevant as it addresses the effectiveness of neurofeedback training, which is one of the potential interventions being considered for Denise. It provides a systematic review and meta-analysis, offering a strong evidence base.

Lee, C. S. C., Chen, T., Gao, Q., Hua, C., Song, R., & Huang, X. (2023). The effects of Theta/Beta-based neurofeedback training on attention in children with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Child Psychiatry & Human Development, 54(6), 1577–1606.
This article is relevant as it addresses the effectiveness of neurofeedback training, which is one of the potential interventions being considered for Denise. It provides a systematic review and meta-analysis, offering a strong evidence base.

Meppelink, R., de Bruin, E. I., Zoller, B. K., Oort, F. J., & Bögels, S. M. (2024). Child and parent mindfulness-based training versus medication for childhood ADHD: A randomised clinical trial. Mindfulness, 15(2), 295–309.
This article provides a contemporary and comparative approach to ADHD treatment, complementing the other neurofeedback and intervention articles.

Rambler, R. M., Rinehart, E., Boehmler, W., Gait, P., Moore, J., Schlenker, M., & Kashyap, R. (2022). A review of the association of blue food coloring With Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder symptoms in children. Cureus, 14(9), e29241.
This article is relevant to the recommendation of the Feingold Diet, which involves eliminating artificial food additives like food coloring. The article would provide evidence on the potential link between food additives and ADHD symptoms, supporting a competence-based recommendation. It is directly related to the Feingold Diet and provides a focused review on the impact of food coloring on ADHD, which can help students critically assess the diet's effectiveness.

Falender, C. A., & Shafranske, E. P. (2019). Consultation in Psychology : A Competency-Based Approach. American Psychological Association.
This book provides a comprehensive exploration of consultation practices within psychology, emphasizing the development of essential competencies. While Chapter 3 provides focused insights into ethical, legal, and professional issues critical for the Week 3 assignment, the entire book serves as an invaluable resource for students who wish to deepen their understanding of consultation across various contexts.