PSY-6430

Perrewé, P. L., & McAllister, C. P. (2024). Examining the dynamics of major theories of occupational stress. In L. E. Tetrick, G. G. Fisher, M. T. Ford, & J. C. Quick (Eds.), Handbook of occupational health psychology., 3rd ed., (pp. 47–64). American Psychological Association.
This handbook chapter is an important resource to review because it shares an overview of occupational stress and a discussion of key occupational stress theories.

Simmons, B. L., Hanna, A., & Hu, J. (2024). The holistic model of stress: Savoring eustress while coping with distress. In L. E. Tetrick, G. G. Fisher, M. T. Ford, & J. C. Quick (Eds.), Handbook of occupational health psychology., 3rd ed. (pp. 65–84). American Psychological Association.
This handbook chapter is an important resource to review because it provides a discussion of stress from a positive psychology perspective and shares a framework which examines both positive (i.e., eustress) and negative (i.e., distress) aspects of stress.

Leiter, M. P., & Maslach, C. (2024). Job burnout. In L. E. Tetrick, G. G. Fisher, M. T. Ford, & J. C. Quick (Eds.), Handbook of occupational health psychology., 3rd ed. (pp. 291–307). American Psychological Association.
This handbook chapter is an important resource to review because it provides an overview of research related to burnout which occurs due to chronic job stress.

Pasca, R., & Wagner, S. L. (2011). Occupational stress in the multicultural workplace. Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health, 13(4), 697–705.
This scholarly article is an important resource to review because it provides a multicultural perspective of occupational stress.

Rees, C. S., Breen, L. J., Cusack, L., & Hegney, D. (2015). Understanding individual resilience in the workplace: The international collaboration of workforce resilience model. Frontiers in Psychology, 6.
This scholarly article is an important resource to review because it describes a new framework for understanding the buffering effect of resilience on workplace stress.

Richardson, K. M. (2017). Managing employee stress and wellness in the new millennium. Journal of Occupational Health Psychology, 22(3), 423.
This scholarly article is an important resource to review because it provides suggestions for ways in which organizations can support stress management and employee wellness efforts.

Smith, E. N., Santoro, E., Moraveji, N., Susi, M., & Crum, A. J. (2020). Integrating wearables in stress management interventions: Promising evidence from a randomized trial. International Journal of Stress Management, 27(2), 172–182.
This scholarly article is an important resource to review because it describes research which investigates the role of technology in stress management intervention.

Salvagioni, D. A. J., Melanda, F. N., Mesas, A. E., González, A. D., Gabani, F. L., & Andrade, S. M. D. (2017). Physical, psychological and occupational consequences of job burnout: A systematic review of prospective studies. PloS One, 12(10), e0185781.
This scholarly article is an interesting resource to review because it provides a summary of research focused on the physical, psychological and occupational consequences of burnout.