LibGuides: PSY-6430: Week 5 Resources

Week 5 Resources

Controlling Occupational Safety and Health Hazards
Smith, M. J., Carayon, P., & Hoonakker, P. (2024). Controlling occupational safety and health hazards. In L. E. Tetrick, G. G. Fisher, M. T. Ford, & J. C. Quick (Eds.), Handbook of occupational health psychology., ,3rd ed. (pp. 85–102). American Psychological Association.
This handbook chapter is an important resource to review because it explores the importance of safety standards to reduce occupational health hazards.
Safety Training
Burke, M.J. and Sockbeson, C.E.S. (2015). Safety training. In The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of the Psychology of Occupational Safety and Workplace Health (eds S. Clarke, T.M. Probst, F. Guldenmund and J. Passmore).
This handbook chapter is an important resource to review because it describes the use of safety training to improve workplace health and occupational safety.
Mistreatment in Organizations
Yang, L.-Q., Fox, S., & McMahon, K. (2024). Mistreatment in organizations: Where are we, and where are we going? In L. E. Tetrick, G. G. Fisher, M. T. Ford, & J. C. Quick (Eds.), Handbook of occupational health psychology., 3rd ed. (pp. 267–286). American Psychological Association.
This handbook chapter is an important resource to review because it describes the impact of mistreatment in organizations and the role of occupational health researchers and practitioners in ensuring a safe and collaborative work environment.
Fighting Incivility in the Workplace for Women and for All Workers
Di Fabio, A., & Duradoni, M. (2019). Fighting incivility in the workplace for women and for all workers: The challenge of primary prevention. Frontiers in Psychology, 1–6.
This resource is important to review because it discusses the negative impact of workplace incivility on employees – with an emphasis on female workers.
Managing Fatigue in the Workplace
Managing fatigue in the workplace. (2021).[Video/DVD] Channel 1 Creative Media.
A Few Facts and Figures
Peter Weston (Producer), & Smith, G. (Director). (2020). A few facts and figures. [Video/DVD] Channel 1 Creative Media.

Week 5 Optional Resources

Moderation in All Things, except when it comes to Workplace Safety
Beck, J. W., Nishioka, M., Scholer, A. A., & Beus, J. M. (2024). Moderation in all things, except when it comes to workplace safety: Accidents are most likely to occur under moderately hazardous work conditions. Personnel Psychology, 77(3), 963–995.
This resource is important to review because it shares insight into how to improve workplace safety.
Measuring Best Practices for Workplace Safety, Health, and Well-Being
Sorensen, G., Sparer, E., Williams, J. A. R., Gundersen, D., Boden, L. I., Dennerlein, J. T., Hashimoto, D., Katz, J. N., McLellan, D. L., Okechukwu, C. A., Pronk, N. P., Revette, A., & Wagner, G. R. (2018). Measuring best practices for workplace safety, health, and well-being: The workplace integrated safety and health assessment. Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, 60(5), 430–439.
This resource is important to review because it shares insight into how to measure workplace safety, health, and well-being.
Digital Innovations for Occupational Safety
Dodoo, J. E., Al-Samarraie, H., Alzahrani, A. I., Lonsdale, M., & Alalwan, N. (2024). Digital innovations for occupational safety: Empowering workers in hazardous environments. Workplace Health & Safety, 72(3), 84–9.
This resource is important to review because it shares recommendations for the use of technology to enhance occupational safety,
Organizational Climate and Occupational Health
Ehrhart, M. G., & Kuenzi, M. (2024). Organizational climate and occupational health. In L. E. Tetrick, G. G. Fisher, M. T. Ford, & J. C. Quick (Eds.), Handbook of occupational health psychology.,, 3rd ed. (pp. 171–187). American Psychological Association.
This handbook chapter is an important resource to review because it examines the role of organizational climate on occupational health and safety.

<< Previous: Week 4 Resources
Next: Week 6 Resources >>