Welcome to the library guide for GBM-7001: Global Business Environment.
Use the tabs in the menu to the left to navigate this guide.
Course Textbook: Hill, C. W. L. (2021). Global business today. McGraw-Hill.
Access your textbook via the Bookshelf tab in the top navigation bar of your course.
BCC Research
Contains market research reports on topics in these industries: life sciences, materials, sensors, energy and the environment, and commerce, including technology, manufacturing, finance, and more.
Bloomberg
Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and U.S. markets. Also has company profiles and financial statements, analysts' forecasts, and news.
Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Contains full-text and article abstracts from business publications. Also includes product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews, and reports.
Business Insights: Global
Great first database for community entrepreneurs. Includes company profiles, industry and market research reports, SWOT analysis, financial ratios, and news.
Capital IQ (Standard and Poors Net Advantage)
Provides information on public & private global companies and includes financials and filings, news & corporate events, business relationships (i.e, suppliers and strategic alliances, people (i.e., board members), M&A deals, and more.
CB Insights
Provides venture capital and angel investment data from across the world on the financing of startups, allowing you to analyze trends across industries, research individual funders and companies, and track hiring and valuations.
CFRA MarketScope Advisor (part of Standard and Poor's Net Advantage)
Provides industry surveys on 55 broad industries and financial reports and screening tools on Stocks, ETFs, and Mutual Funds using data from S&P.
China Data Online
Provides data on China, including macroeconomic statistics, economic reports, city statistics, regional statistics, industrial statistics, yearbooks, etc.
Conference Board
Provides proprietary management research and economic analysis, including articles from The Conference Board Review. Research reports include surveys and case studies of the world's most influential companies.
Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory
Provides information on firms and individuals from the U.S. and Canada in the consulting services industry.
Diplomat
The Diplomat includes articles on international current affairs, geopolitical trends, defense and intelligence, environment, human security, development, arts, social trends, and culture for the Asia-Pacific region.
EconLit
Contains citations, with abstracts, to articles from more than 400 economics journals. In addition, subject indexing and abstracts of books and subject indexing of dissertation titles are included. Corresponding printed sources are: Journal of Economic Literature, Index of Economic Articles, and Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
Economist Historical Archive (Economist)
Contains every page of every issue of The Economist published from 1843 to 2020 and provides an invaluable perspective on the great events of the 19th and 20th centuries, and offers tracking and comparison of economic and political trends across continents and centuries.
EIU Viewpoint
Economic, political, and market insights and analysis, including country reports, industry reports, articles, and data. Their data tool includes key economic, historical, current, and forecasted country data.
eMarketer
eMarketer provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
EMIS Intelligence
Provides news, industry information, and company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.
Europa World
Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Yearbook, one of the leading reference sources on international affairs. It covers political and economic information on over 250 countries, plus international organizations.
FactSet
Provides access to company/Security Analysis including public and private, bonds, mutual funds, ETFs, Industry Analysis, News and Quotes, Screening for equity, debt, holders, mutual funds, IPOs, and PE/VC, FactSet Mergers, Equity Portfolio Analysis – weights, contribution, attribution, and performance reports, Economic Analysis, and Ownership.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
According to the Foundation Center, the Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDOP) database provides subscribers with unprecedented access to a wide array of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Includes information on nearly 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs (with sponsoring company information), and grantmaking public charities, as well as a searchable database of 500,000 recently awarded grants. Includes Foundation Grants to Individuals as of March 2024.
Frost & Sullivan
Provides in-depth market analysis and technical reports in specialized industries including healthcare, aerospace & defense, chemicals, and energy.
Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data from the Gallup World Poll.
Globaledge
Created by MSU's Center for International Business Education and Research (MSU-CIBER), Globaledge provides insight into global business activities. Includes country profiles with corporate culture and risk, statistics, industry overviews, news, and more.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Includes full-text articles, company and country reports, and books.
IBISWorld
Provides readable high-level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.
IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Users will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
International Directory of Company Histories
Provides information on more than 11,000 influential and emerging companies worldwide, including background and history of a company, merger and acquisition activity over time, the impact of particular sales and marketing campaigns, the effectiveness of executive leadership, and much more.
JSTOR
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
MarketLine (In Business Source Premier for global reports)
Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.
Mergent Market Atlas
Market Atlas provides tools for both interactive online research and easy predefined report access. These tools and reports are reflected across multiple product modules, including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country, and Economic analysis.
Mergent Online
Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies. Mergent is good for finding company financials, SEC filings (US only), current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies, stock information, and executive information. It also has company history, competitors, company ownership (i.e,. institutional holdings, insiders, etc.), corporate calendar, company news, industry profiles, and country profiles.
Nexis Uni
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies, as well as newspaper articles, transcripts, and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), featuring its books, papers, and statistics, and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Panjiva
Contains supplier and import/export data for American companies and products. Use to research global suppliers, trading partners, track specific shipments, and see sourcing trends by HTS Code.
ProQuest (All databases)
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Replaces the Census Bureau publication (1878-2012).
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Includes ProQuest Statistical Datasets and the ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [It is the WWW version of 3 print indexing sources: American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS), and Statistical Reference Index (SRI).] Links to selected full-text materials are provided, some in spreadsheet format. The Library owns almost all the materials indexed in ProQuest Statistical Insight.
ProQuest TDM Studio
TDM Studio is a text and data mining (TDM) solution that allows users to text mine newspapers, scholarly journals, dissertations, and other content available through MSU’s ProQuest subscriptions.
Risk.net Academic
Provides news and analysis covering the financial industry, with a particular focus on risk management, derivatives, and complex finance. Access includes: Risk Quantum, Risk Quantum database, Risk scenarios, Risk Journals, and Risk Books.
Roper iPoll
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics, including social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more.
Sage Business Data Decisions
By bridging the gap between business fundamentals and practical applications, Data Decisions helps students develop the competencies to thrive in their courses, capstones, internships, and in the competitive job market post-graduation. Each exercise, or “Data Challenge,” is designed to give students hands-on experience in applying business fundamentals and data analysis methods to real-world scenarios through text, visualizations, interactive quizzes, and downloadable quantitative and qualitative data sets.
Sage Journals Online
Sage Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine, and provides a delivery platform for the full text of individual Sage journals. In many cases, access back to volume 1, issue 1 is provided; some journals may only have content available back to 1999. MSU Libraries have licensed access to almost all journals on the Sage platform.
Sage Research Methods Online
Sage Research Methods is an online research tool created to help students and researchers across the social and behavioral sciences design research projects, understand methods, identify new methods, conduct research, and write up their findings.
Sage Research Methods: Data Visualization
Teaches the fundamentals of data and design necessary to create impactful data visualizations using video tutorials, text entries, and practice datasets. Master new methods with sample datasets before applying them to your own data. The datasets are taken from government sources and academic research and demonstrate both qualitative and quantitative methods. Each dataset is presented with an easy-to-follow, step-by-step guide to best demonstrate how the method is applied.
Sage Research Methods: Foundations
Sage Research Methods Foundations provides a concise introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to that particular method. While a general search can provide an overwhelming number of results, Sage Research Methods Foundations offers a targeted list of entries to guide users through the content. The navigation menu puts the entry in context, so users can easily find more general topics related to a method or continue on to more specific sub-topics. Each entry will give users a general understanding of the topic and help them focus their search for additional content if they wish to dive deeper.
Social Sciences Full Text (might be in NU EBSCOHOST)
Coverage: 1983-present. Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Sports Market Analytics
Focuses on the Sporting Goods and Sports Marketing Industry; data includes consumer demographics, sports participation rates, online consumer buying patterns, sports attendance statistics, and international market surveys. It also offers full text access to several sports business trade journals.
Statista
Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.
UN Comtrade
A searchable database of import and export data from over 130 countries that provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. For many countries, the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year.
USA Trade Online
Monthly and annual data on U.S. imports and exports by country and U.S. customs port with up to 10-digit Harmonized System classification detail. Data can be downloaded in Excel, .CSV or Beyond 20/20 formats.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Provides access to business research datasets including COMPUSTAT Global & EMDB, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, EVENTUS, I/B/E/S, IRI, PACAP, and more.
World Bank E-Library
Contains over 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers from the World Bank, including the final, peer-reviewed versions of the Bank's formal publications.
World Bank Enterprise Surveys
Provides the world's most comprehensive firm-level data in emerging markets and developing economies for over 120,000 firms in 125 countries and expanding. Data are used to create indicators that benchmark the quality of the business and investment climate across countries. Data includes surveys on topics such as finance, infrastructure, sales, competition, crime, business-government relations, labor, and performance. Researchers have full access to survey data.
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources.
World Databank
Available from the World Bank, Databank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Includes World Development Indicators & Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, Doing Business, and more.