International Students

There are a few different ways to locate e-books in the Library.

If you are looking for a specific book title, use Find a Resource to see if the Library provides access to it in electronic book format. Find a Resource is the next tab over from NavigatorSearch, the central search box found on the Library’s homepage.

Type the book title into the search box and click Search. If you do not know the exact title, but at least know one or more words contained within the title, select “Title contains all words” from the drop-down menu to the left. Then, type in your terms and click Search. If the Library has access to the e-book, the title will appear in your record results. Click on the hyperlinked database name which appears below the book title to access the full-text e-book.

If you wish to search for books on a specific topic, you can do so using NavigatorSearch or one of the Library’s e-book databases found on the Find an E-Book page.

To search only for books using NavigatorSearch, type your keyword search into the box and click Go. Then, on your results page look to the “Refine Results” area on the left hand side of your screen. Scroll down to the Source Types limiter and check mark the box next to Books. Make sure to also check mark the box next to Full Text under “Limit To” to ensure your results only contain e-books which are immediately accessible through NU Library.

You can also search for books on a specific topic using one of the Library’s e-book databases found on the Find an E-Book page. For any topic, we recommend starting with the Ebook Central database on this page as it is our largest collection of e-books containing over 200,000 titles.

If you cannot locate a book in full text electronic format through NU Library, please see our FAQ on possible alternatives for acquiring books.

For locating chapters, Ebook Central is a good starting point since it has over 200,000 academic books in all subject areas. To access Ebook Central from the Library's home page, click on Research Resources - Find an E-Book.

We suggest doing a simple search in Ebook Central for your keyword or phrase. Make sure to use quotation marks when looking for exact phrases. You may read more about Phrase Searching within the Research Process guide.

Once on your results screen, click the tab for Chapter Results, as shown below. Chapter Rank displays the 20 chapters that have the best ranking, often the most relevant chapters.