Diversity Committee

Article by Sophia Kerby, Special Assistant with Progress 2050 at the Center for American Progress.

Note that in many cases, these categories overlap in such a way that one person can potentially deal with multiple forms of oppression.

Infographic on gender-specific pronouns, or ways we refer to each other in the third person. Also includes links to infographics on creating inclusive spaces.

Lessons learned from campuses nationwide have informed an approach to compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act during the process of online course design.

While highlighting the Obama Administration’s efforts to promote diversity in institutions of higher education, this report shows the continuing educational inequities and opportunity gaps in accessing and completing a quality postsecondary education.

When approaching issues of racial and cultural tension, teachers must begin by recognizing their own personal discomfort--because it does translate into their practice.

This article presents suggestions for avoiding heterosexual bias in language concerning lesbians, gay men, and bisexual persons.

The following provides a description of the oppression of ‘ableism’, and offers an applied training module to help prepare generalist social workers (i.e. current students or direct practitioners) to work with issues of disability as they emerge in their direct practice with clients.

Empowers designers with beautiful and accessible color palettes based on WCAG Guidelines of text and background contrast ratios.

Disability, health and financial resources from the Council for Disability Awareness.

Whether you need help managing difficult conversa-tions and responding to “hot moments” or creating a more inclusive curriculum and incorporating culturally responsive teaching and learning practices, this 38-page special report is loaded with practical assignments and hard-hitting advice.

This article is geared for both faculty and staff and demonstrates how microagressions and identification can affect performance of students.

Post discusses where to begin when making your curriculum design choices more inclusive.

Overview and examples of diversity statements provided by Yale University.

Resource guide provided by Emerson College.

Provides examples of racial microaggressions, indirect verbal or nonverbal communications, intentional or not, that result in harmful consequences to members of marginalized groups.

Presentation from UC Santa Cruz defines and identifies implicit bias, and discusses the impacts of implicit bias in higher education.

Does your online course respect and encourage diversity? Here are some facts and questions to consider in order to maximize your course inclusivity.

Move beyond the pink/blue binary to support students who don’t conform to narrow gender norms.

Stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés; aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives.

Includes a glossary of language used within the LGBTQ community, offensive language to avoid, a directory of community resources, and more.

Document provided by the Tasmanian Department of Education.

Master's thesis is an inquiry into how online instructors embrace the diversity of their student body while facing the inherent differences between a traditional face-to-face class and one that is taught online.

Articles includes steps for how to cultivate empathy for learning.

The purpose of this paper is to explore the policies, practices and procedures of inclusion across three universities in the San Francisco Bay Area: Stanford University, the University of San Francisco, and the University of California at Berkeley.

Images which demonstrate the differences between inclusion, exclusion, segregation, and integration.

The Higher Education Academy (HEA) commissioned this guide to support the higher education sector to think creatively about inclusive curriculum design from a generic as well as subject or disciplinary perspective.

This publication provides a guide to developing inclusive learning and teaching in HE by exploring how 15 institutional teams from across the UK tackled this challenge, from defining inclusive learning and teaching to engaging staff and students and measuring impact.

Inclusive teaching strategies refer to any number of teaching approaches that address the needs of students with a variety of backgrounds, learning styles, and abilities.

Article argues that a broader and deeper understanding of racism and other biases is central to acknowledging linkages between varieties of discrimination.

Obsidian Learning examines several issues related to accessibility and eLearning.

Linguistic Society of America guidelines address issues related to gender, minorities, disabilities, and other demographic characteristics to which we should be sensitive in our communication.

Article briefly outlines what you need to know to create an action plan for shifting from diversity management to inclusion.

Brief overview of ableist language, any word or phrase that devalues people who have physical or mental disabilities.

A study by the Center for Education Policy Analysis at Stanford University found that bias appears to be strong in online course discussions.

Free online resource providing curricula, activities, and other resources for educators facilitating Safe Zone trainings (sexuality, gender, and LGBTQ+ education sessions), and learners who are hoping to explore these concepts on their own.

Overview article provided by Planned Parenthood.

Starbucks conversation and learning session on race, bias, and creating an environment that is welcoming to all.

This article is part of a series on public morality in 21st-century Australia.

Presentation from Alex Madva geared toward Higher Education administrators, faculty, staff, and students.

This resource guide will assist readers in understanding and addressing both bias and a lack of cultural competency.

Article explores gender as the complex interrelationship between three dimensions--body, identity, and expression.

Federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through leadership in accessible design and the development of accessibility guidelines and standards for the built environment, transportation, communication, medical diagnostic equipment, and information technology.

Provides articles that serve as an introduction to Inclusion.

Guide from the British Columbia Public Service Agency sets out some key guiding principles and suggestions to support using inclusive language.

Instructors can consider racial and socioeconomic awareness, checking for implicit bias, and developing inclusive classrooms, teaching strategies, and diversity statements.