Faculty Library Guide

Featuring research on topics such as professional development in the twenty-first century and cultural differences in online learning environments, this book is ideally designed for educators, students, academicians, and other education professionals seeking coverage on enhanced student learning through technology-based learning tools.

Provides relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings in e-learning and mobile learning in modern higher education and its applications in other professional fields such as medical education.

Focuses mainly on how potential online instructors can create and maintain the human aspect of live, face-to-face education in an online course to successfully teach and instruct their students. Included are interviews with experienced online instructors who use their emotional intelligence skills and instruction skills (examples included) to teach their students successfully.

Explores psychological and social aspects of online presence from both the instructor and student perspective, and provides an instructional design framework for developing effective online learning.

Provides emerging information on designing online courses recognizing cultural differences, building effective learning environments and forums, and integrating classroom aesthetics.

Explores the different perspectives of public latency and the creation of electronic educational formats that mimic the experience of traditional classrooms.

Examines and offers best practices for all factors that contribute to building quality online programs including faculty buy-in and training; student motivation, interest, and retention; program planning, pedagogy, and design; program administration; and the use of appropriate and up-to-date technology.

Provides relevant and detailed research on the applications of synchronous and asynchronous instructional pedagogies and discusses why they are critical to the design and implementation of contemporary online courses.

Provides the latest research findings on the novel techniques and strategies for nurturing communication between students and faculty in virtual learning environments.

Focuses on the ways educators can shape their online classes to best suit their students and leave them with knowledge and course satisfaction.

Chapters in this book focus on using an array of different Web 2.0 technologies and web-enabled learning platforms to create technology-rich learning environments.

Provides evidence-based practices for online teaching, online course design, and online student motivation integrated with pedagogical and cognitive science to help you build the distance learning courses and programs your students deserve.

Provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses.

Addresses the evolution of social presence with three distinct perspectives, outlines the relevant research, and focuses on practical strategies that can immediately impact the teaching and learning experience.

Collection of innovative research that focuses on connecting contextual analyses of student-focused online instruction with quality assurance principles to improve higher education.