LibGuides: EDR-8201 v5: Week 3 Resources

Week 3 Resources

Stats I Week 3 Assignment Part 1 of 1
Booker-Zorigan, B. (2021, July 18). Stats I Week 3 Assignment Part 1 of 1 [Video]. Kaltura.
This video is designed to help you understand variability and central tendency, and includes an SPSS tutorial.
Academic Success Center (ASC). (2020). Statistics resources. National University.
This LibGuide includes all of the statistics resources curated by NU's Academic Success Center. Use the headings on the left side of this ASC page to navigate to your particular area of need.
The mode
Butler, G. (2012). The mode. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 824-826). SAGE.
The mode is one of the measures of central tendency. This measure is important with categorical variables because it reveals the most common answered chosen in the variable. This resource will help you identify the role of the mode in a dataset, as it relates to the median and the mean.
The mean.
Fan, S. (2012). The mean. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 783-785). SAGE. 10.4135/9781412961288
The mean is the most important measure of central tendency. The mean is calculated using all of the data points in the distribution. This resource discusses the role of the mean in a dataset, as it relates to the median and the mode.
The median
Fan, S. (2012). The median. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 791-793). SAGE.
The median is the other measure of central tendency and it is used when mean is not appropriate. This resource discusses the role of the median in a dataset, as it relates to the mean and the mode.
Variance.
King, B. (2012). Variance. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 1607-1608). SAGE.
The variance is the area of statistics that describe the spread of the scores in a distribution. You will notice that two distributions with the exact same mean might be very different from each other; this difference comes from the variation of scores.
Descriptive Statistics (Chapter 7)
Kulas, J., Roji, R., & Smith, A. (2020). Descriptives (Chapter 7). IBM SPSS Essentials: Managing and analyzing social sciences data. Wiley & Sons.
This chapter describes the procedures of conducting descriptive analyses for quantitative variables. One of the important features of this section is the conversion of raw scores to standardized scores, which will be used later in the course.
Measures of central tendency
Mickens, N. (2018). Measures of central tendency. In B. B. Frey (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of educational research, measurement, and evaluation (pp. 1038-1039). SAGE.
Measures of central tendency are used to determine the middle area of a group of numbers. This section describes the measures in order of importance and when to use each one of them.
Standard deviation
Richard, D. (2012). Standard deviation. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 1422-1424). SAGE.
This resource explains the value of the standard deviation. Standard deviation is the preferred method of variability because it provides a more accurate picture of the distribution in relation to the mean.
Measures of variability.
Stockburger, D. (2012). Measures of variability. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 1600-1603). SAGE.
Variability is a critical construct in research. It provides a description of the differences in scores in a particular distribution. This resource describes the different types of variability measures.
The range.
Vo, H. T., & James, L. M. (2012). The range. In N. J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia of research design (pp. 1219). SAGE.
The range is the lowest-level measure of variability. It only tells you the difference between the highest and the lowest score.

Supplemental Resources

Academic Success Center (ASC). (2020). Statistics resources. National University.
This LibGuide includes all of the statistics resources curated by NU's Academic Success Center. Use the headings on the left side of this ASC page to navigate to your particular area of need.
Presenting Statistics in Text
This page from the ASC offers support on how to use appropriately the different elements of statistics within text that you write.

<< Previous: Week 2 Resources
Next: Week 4 Resources >>