IEG-7100

Menon, S., Green, C., Charbonneau, I., Lehtomaki, E., & Mafi, B. (2021). Approaching global education development with a decolonial lens: Teachers’ reflections. Teaching in Higher Education, 26(7/8), 937-952. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1080%2F13562517.2021.1941845

In this paper, teachers and researchers of a course on global education development, informed by theories of decoloniality, report on the impact of the colonial past on education in Finland. The authors seek to decenter the dominant liberal frameworks within global education development.

Yang, A., Liu, W., & Wang, R. (2020). Cross-sector alliances in the global refugee crisis: An institutional theory approach. Business Ethics, The Environment & Responsibility, 29(3), 646-660. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=bth&AN=143677884&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv

The authors of this study explore the National Business System Theory with a focus on the practical guidelines that can help experts, including educators, understand societal expectations when dealing with controversial social issues in an international setting.

Gejendhiran, S., Anicia, S., Vignesh, S., & Kalaimani, M. (2020). Disruptive technologies - A promising key for sustainable future education. Procedia Computer Science, 172, 843-847. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com%2Fscience%2Farticle%2Fpii%2FS1877050920314502%3Fvia%253Dihub

Today’s global economy requires technologists that lead educators across the globe to think innovatively and to help people to become creative and innovative. In global education, it is important to develop instruction that includes new ways to deliver instruction in the classroom. The authors consider strategies where technology prompts a pause in the traditional ways to incorporate technology into the curriculum and allows for creative ways to design courses that encourage reflection and ingenuity. According to the authors, “eventually a new understanding of how learning happens and what a course could be emerge” (Gejendhiran et al., 2020, p. 837).

Wolhuter, C. (2020). Education reforms worldwide: Incoming tide for comparative and international education. Bulgarian Comparative Education Society (BCES) ,18, 27-33. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED608387.pdf

Wolhuter (2020) provides an overview of the reforms that have taken place worldwide and the implications of those reforms for the field of Comparative and International Education. The article provides information about the societal trends that have changed education objectives and teacher and curricula development, globally.

Nygren, T., Kronlid, D., Larsson, E., Novak, J., Bentrovato, D., Wassermann, J., Welply, O., Guath, M., & Anamika. (2020). Global citizenship education for global citizenship? Students' views on learning about, through, and for human rights, peace, and sustainable development in England, India, New Zealand, South Africa, and Sweden. Journal of Social Science Education, 19(4),63-97. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ1281237.pdf

Students share their perspectives on the central issues and productive actions that are key elements of global citizenship education (GCE) to better understand the complexity of GCE in theory and practice.

Maree, N., & Vos, D. (2021). The influence and value of science and technology in the education systems of South Africa and Russia. Perspectives in Education, 39(4), 27-42. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=ehh&AN=155174536&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv

This study was designed to identify the influence of technology on the education systems of South Africa and Russia. The appropriate application of relevant technology in education can be used as valuable support to education delivery. Technology can be used to stimulate creativity, contribute to the development of higher-order cognitive thinking skills, assist learners to develop technological skills, and this study provides evidence of the value that technology provided in two countries in different ways.

Chen, Q., Zhang, J., & Liang, L. (2021). Problematising formative assessment in an underdeveloped region of China: Voices from practitioners. Educational Assessment, Evaluation and Accountability: International Journal of Policy, Practice and Research. 33(4), 649-673. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Flink.springer.com%2Farticle%2F10.1007%2Fs11092-021-09369-5

This article serves as an example of the different education issues that are experienced across countries and within China. Also, this article covers the interface between policy intention, interpretation, and implementation and the imbalance of those factors on education.

“Winnie, N. (2021, May 3). Uganda’s education system explained [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLwhlmrVg2I

In this video, the presenter explains the education structure in Uganda, starting with the structure of primary, secondary, upper secondary, and ending with the pathway to a career/vocational choice. Across the globe, education systems use different structures in which to operate and manage instruction. As you view the YouTube video, think about the differences between the Uganda education structure and the one in your country. How are the structures of the education systems different and alike? Are there aspects of the system that you like or do not like? Why? Viewing the video and answering the questions will help you prepare for the assignment in this lesson.

Keengwe, J. (2022). Handbook of research on transformative and innovative pedagogies in education. IGI Global. https://www.igi-global.com/gateway/book/279226

According to the author, the use of digital learning in education has focused mainly on traditional pedagogies and general digital technology, resulting in minimal impact on learning. The focus of this handbook is on using a more appropriate paradigm for integrating technology into learning, such as looking at digital technology as a partner with students (not teachers) to empower their learning process.

GCFGlobal. (n.d.). Word - charts. Goodwil Community Foundation. https://edu.gcfglobal.org/en/word/charts/1/

This resource will walk you through how to create a chart in Microsoft word.

GCFGlobal. (n.d.). Word - tables. Goodwil Community Foundation. https://edu.gcfglobal.org/en/word/tables/1/

This resource will walk you through how to create a table in Microsoft word.

Blogger Help. (n.d.). Create a blog. Google. https://support.google.com/blogger/answer/1623800?hl=en

This source provides information on how to set-up a Blogger website.

Weebly Support. (n.d.). FAQ. Weebly. https://www.weebly.com/app/help/us/en/sections/faq

This source provides information on how to set-up a Weebly website. Additionally, you will want to look over the resources provided in the help section of this link.

Wix Help Center. (n.d.). How to begin. Wix. https://support.wix.com/en/getting-started/how-to-begin-9406187

This source provides information on how to set-up a Wix website.