LibGuides: EID600: Thematic Resources

Learning Theories

Design for how people learn
Dirksen, J. (2012). Design for how people learn. New Riders. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=edsebk&AN=1597562&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Discusses instructional design strategies for education and workplace settings that are intentionally aligned with learning theories.
Resources on learning and the brain
Edutopia. (2016, March). Resources on learning and the brain. https://www.edutopia.org/article/brain-based-learning-resources
Helpful list of articles, videos, and other links for exploring the connection between education and neuroscience.
Learning theory and online technologies
Harasim, L. (2017). Learning theory and online technologies. Taylor & Francis. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=cat09983a&AN=nat.EBC4865772&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Provides a historical overview of online learning that includes frameworks for designing effective online environments and evaluating learning. It also provides direct connections with aligned learning theories.
Educational psychologists, theorists, researchers, and authors
Herr, N. (2021). Educational psychologists, theorists, researchers, and authors. https://www.csun.edu/science/ref/theory-research/theorists/theorists.html
Website with a compiled list of resources on learning theories and theorists.
Index of learning theories
Kearsley, G. & Colatta, R. (2021). Index of learning theories. https://www.instructionaldesign.org/theories/
Website with a compiled list of resources on instructional design models, learning theories, and theorists.
Digital literacy and the emergence of technology-based curriculum theories (Chapter 2)
Mallon, M. N. & Gilstrap, D. L. (2014). Digital literacy and the emergence of technology-based curriculum theories (Chapter 2). In D. Loveless, B. Griffith, M. Bérci, E. Ortlieb, & P. Sullivan (Eds.), Academic knowledge construction and multimodal curriculum development (pp. 15-29). IGI Global.
https://www-igi--global-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/gateway/chapter/94164
Discusses multimodal curriculum development and the integration of technology with descriptions of several learning theories that connect.
Learning theories
Oyarzun, B. & Conklin, S. (2021). Learning theories. In J. K. McDonald & R. E. West (Eds.), Design for learning: Principles, processes, and praxis. EdTech Books. https://edtechbooks.org/id/learning_theories
Short chapter that provides an overview of some of the learning theories that connect with technology integration and instructional design.
15 Learning theories in education
Stevens-Fulbrook, P. (2021). 15 Learning theories in education. https://teacherofsci.com/learning-theories-in-education/
Website with short summaries of several learning theories including behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism, and others that branch from these.
Foundations of learning and instructional design technology
West, R. E. (2018). Foundations of learning and instructional design technology, First edition. EdTech Books. https://dx.doi.org/10.59668/3 https://edtechbooks.org/lidtfoundations
This OER textbook features several chapters on different learning theories that can be a helpful resource for reading about their history, application, and the seminal theorists behind them. It also has chapters on educational technology and instructional design research that align directly with our course content. See Section II: Learning and Instruction.

How People Learn

The National Research Council has conducted and synthesized research in developmental psychology, cognitive psychology, neuroscience, and educational psychology over the past two decades. In a culmination of books published by the National Academy of Sciences, researchers share theories and insights about how people learn, which is essential for considering effective technology adoption and implementation that can support or enhance learning. The books below are recommended as helpful references to better understand how learning theories apply in formal and informal settings. They also have specific chapters about the integration of learning technologies, which are directly connected with our course content.

How people learn: Bridging research and practice
National Research Council. 1999. How people learn: Bridging research and practice. The National Academies Press.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=nlebk&AN=8723&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
This is the original version that presents theories and insights analyzing the science of learning in infants, educators, experts, and more.
How people learn: Brain, mind, experience, and school: Expanded edition
National Research Council. 2000. How people learn: Brain, mind, experience, and school: Expanded edition. The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/9853.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=nlebk&AN=46035&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Building on the original 1999 edition, this book offers new research about the mind and the brain while exploring the nature of learning and the design of effective learning environments.
How people learn II: Learners, contexts, and cultures
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2018. How people learn II: Learners, contexts, and cultures. The National Academies Press. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=nlebk&AN=2322296&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
This book expands on the 2000 edition and takes an in-depth look at the constellation of influences that affect individual learning with updated research from the past decade. In alignment with our course, Chapter 8 provides an excellent overview of many key concepts including: affordances of technology, learning technologies, transmedia learning, empowering learners as producers and creators, formal and informal learning, distance learning, UDL, Mayer’s principles of multimedia learning, multimodal learning, etc.

Multimodal Learning Environments and Multimedia Instruction

Richard Mayer has been influential (among others) in researching concepts such as multimodal learning learning environments and multimedia instruction. Here are some of his seminal works to learn more about these concepts:

Interactive multimodal learning environments: Special issue on interactive learning environments
Moreno, R., & Mayer, R. (2007). Interactive multimodal learning environments: Special issue on interactive learning environments: Contemporary issues and trends. Educational Psychology Review, 19(3), 309-326. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=edsjsr&AN=edsjsr.23363954&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
This initial study from 2007 introduces and defines multimodal learning environments. It further discusses ways to make them interactive with 5 recommended strategies: dialoguing, controlling, manipulating, searching, and navigating. It is one of Mayer’s earlier works that leads into newer terminology such as multimedia instruction.
Multimedia instruction
Mayer, R. (2014). Multimedia instruction. In Spector, M.J., Merrill, M.D., Elen, J., & Bishop, M.J. (Eds.). Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology (pp. 385-399). Springer.
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=1317738&ppg=405
This chapter provides a historical overview of multimedia instruction and multimedia learning. It discusses how to design multimedia instruction that fosters multimedia learning with connections to cognitive processing learnin theories (e.g. Cognitive load theory and Cognitive theory of multimedia learning).

Technology-Enhanced Learning

Designing technology-enhanced learning experiences (Chapter 26)
West, R. E. & Allman, B. (2021). Designing technology-enhanced learning experiences (Chapter 26). In J. K. McDonald & R. E. West (Eds.), Design for learning: Principles, processes, and praxis. EdTech Books. https://edtechbooks.org/id/designing_technology
This short chapter offers a succinct overview of instructional technology and impact on learning with intro to technology-enhanced learning terminology and technology integration models/frameworks.

Instructional Design

Design thinking and learning design
Bower, M. (2017). Design thinking and learning design (Chapter 6). In Design of technology-enhanced learning: Integrating research and practice. Emerald Publishing Limited.
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=4717043&ppg=142
This chapter discusses what design is and explains concepts such as: design thinking, learning design, UDL, accessibility, the TPACK framework for technology integration, educational design models, etc.
Seven instructional design storyboard templates for online course creators
Burton, C. (2022). Seven instructional design storyboard templates for online course creators.eLearning Industry. https://elearningindustry.com/instructional-design-storyboard-templates-for-online-course-creators
This website discusses the use of storyboarding for design and includes sample templates for several instructional design models, which you have the option to use or remix for organizing your Digital Toolkit in this course.
Ten instructional design models for creating a winning online course
Burton, C. (2023). Ten instructional design models for creating a winning online course. eLearning Industry. https://www.thinkific.com/blog/instructional-design-models/
Website that provides summaries of different instructional design models along with guidelines for implementation.
The role of theory in instructional design: Some views of an ID practitioner
Christensen, T. K. (2008). The role of theory in instructional design: Some views of an ID practitioner. Performance Improvement, 47(4), 25–32.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=bth&AN=31482062&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Short read about the history of instructional design models and their connection with learning theories.
Curriculum design processes
Dodd, B. J. (2021). Curriculum design processes. In J. K. McDonald & R. E. West (Eds.), Design for learning: Principles, processes, and praxis. EdTech Books. https://edtechbooks.org/id/curriculum_design_process
This chapter provides an overview of curriculum design, instructional design, backward design, Bloom’s Taxonomy, curriculum mapping, etc.
The practice of educational/instructional design
Ertmer, P.A., Parisio, M.L., & Wardak, D. (2013). The practice of educational/instructional design. In Handbook of design in educational technology (R. Luckin, Ed.; First edition). Routledge.
https://go.oreilly.com/nationaluniversity/https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/handbook-of-design/9780415807340/?sso_link=yes&sso_link_from=nationaluniversity
This chapter provides a detailed overview of design concepts in education.
Designing for diverse learners
Gronseth, S. L., Michela, E., & Ugwu, L. O. (2021). Designing for diverse learners. In J. K. McDonald & R. E. West (Eds.), Design for learning: Principles, processes, and praxis. EdTech Books. https://edtechbooks.org/id/designing_for_diverse_learners
This chapter discusses important learner needs to consider and concepts such as empathy, differentiated instruction, culturally relevant pedagogy, and accessibility.
The ADDIE model
Hill, J. & Jordan, L. The ADDIE model. In Experiential learning in instructional design and technology. Practicum Experiences in Instructional Design.
https://pressbooks.pub/experientiallearningininstructionaldesignandtechnology/chapter/3-1-the-addie-model/
OER textbook with a detailed description and accompanying YouTube video about the ADDIE model of instructional design. Includes an overview of how storyboarding can be used for instructional design along with examples.
Instructional design definitions
Instructional Design Central. (2022). Instructional design definitions. https://www.instructionaldesigncentral.com/whatisinstructionaldesign
Online community with content, resources, and an online course on instructional design and learning experience (LX). Discusses definitions for models and related concepts.
Definitions of instructional design
Kurt, S. (2017, October). Definitions of instructional design. Educational Technology. https://educationaltechnology.net/definitions-instructional-design/
Website resource that introduces definitions of instructional design and educational technology along with providing an overview of models.
Designing for modern learning: Beyond ADDIE and SAM
Owens, L., & Kadakia, C. (2020). Designing for modern learning: Beyond ADDIE and SAM. American Society for Training and Development. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=edsbvb&AN=edsbvb.BV048921218&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Discusses the proliferation of technology and the impact this has on learning in modern society with a focus on instructional design strategies.
Becoming a learning designer
Wagner, E. D. (2021). Becoming a learning designer. In J. K. McDonald & R. E. West (Eds.), Design for learning: Principles, processes, and praxis. EdTech Books. https://edtechbooks.org/id/learning_designer
This chapter provides an overview of learning design, instructional design, UX design, design thinking, learning engineering, etc.
The impact of technology and theory on instructional design since 2000
Warren, J., Lee, J., & Najmi, An. (2014). The impact of technology and theory on instructional design since 2000. In Spector, M.J., Merrill, M.D., Elen, J., & Bishop, M.J. (Eds.). Handbook of research on educational communications and technology (p. 89-99). Springer. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nu/reader.action?docID=1317738&ppg=120
Provides a historical perspective on the field of instructional design that connects with learning theories and the integration of new technologies over the time periods discussed.
Foundations of learning and instructional design technology
West, R. E. (2018). Foundations of learning and instructional design technology, First edition. EdTech Books. https://dx.doi.org/10.59668/3
This OER textbook features several chapters on different learning theories that can be a helpful resource for reading about their history, application, and the seminal theorists behind them. It also has chapters on educational technology and instructional design research that align directly with our course content.

Design Elements and Principles

Basics of user experience (UX) design
Interaction Design Foundation. (n.d.) Basics of user experience (UX) design. https://www.interaction-design.org/ebook
OER eBook about design thinking, interaction design, and UX design with research supported strategies.
Don’t make me think, revisited a common sense approach to Web usability
Krug, S. (2014). Don’t make me think, revisited a common sense approach to Web usability, Third edition. New Riders.
https://go.oreilly.com/nationaluniversity/https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/dont-make-me/0321344758/
Discusses the use of design principles for website development while providing helpful suggestions for easy navigation and overall design.
The design of everyday things
Norman, D. (2002). The design of everyday things. Basic Books.
https://go.oreilly.com/nationaluniversity/https://learning.oreilly.com/videos/the-design-of/9781452624129/
Discusses how the physical world is driven by design and provides detailed examples of common items that are compared or contrasted by their design features. Norman explains how cognitive psychology and engineering can be applied to thinking about design as both a producer and consumer of products. This connects with other works that introduce design elements and principles which are necessary to incorporate in our course assignments.
Twenty rules for making good design
Samara, T. (2020). Twenty rules for making good design. In Design elements, Third edition. Rockport Publishers.
https://go.oreilly.com/nationaluniversity/https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/the-non-designers-design/9780321563088/?sso_link=yes&sso_link_from=nationaluniversity
This short chapter introduces design principles with visual examples while explaining how these principles directly impact how something is perceived.
The four principles of great design: Learn by video
Williams, R. (2014). The four principles of great design: Learn by video. Peachpit Press.
https://go.oreilly.com/nationaluniversity/https://learning.oreilly.com/course/the-four-principles/9780133992564/
Three-hour video course teaching design elements such as the use of contrast, repetition, alignment, and proximity (C.R.A.P.) to create professional products. It also has an accompanying workbook.
Non-designer's design book
Williams, R. (2008). Non-designer's design book, Third edition. Peachpit Press.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=cat09983a&AN=nat.EBC226813&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Introduces design elements such as the use of contrast, repetition, alignment, and proximity (C.R.A.P.) to create professional products. It also provides several visual examples for support.
Design Workshop
Williams, R. & Tollett, J. (2007). Design Workshop, Second edition. Peachpit Press.
https://go.oreilly.com/nationaluniversity/https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/robin-williams-design/0321441761/
Introduces design concepts and principles through a series of examples that can be applied in course projects or other creations. It also has an accompanying three-hour video course.