Skip to Main Content

SoTE: Data Science

Where to find help with data science languages and tools

These resources are helpful for finding tutorials and guidebooks:

Selected books and videos

Try these resources to learn more about languages and tools commonly used by data science students:

Excel

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on Excel here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Microsoft Excel 365 Bible  Click to Access: Data Modeling with Microsoft Excel  Click to Access: Data Forecasting and Segmentation Using Microsoft Excel 

Hadoop

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on Hadoop here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Mastering Hadoop 3  Click to Access: Big Data Analytics with Hadoop 3  Click to Access: Modern Big Data Processing with Hadoop 

Julia

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on Julia here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Mastering Julia - Second Edition  Click to Access: Practical Julia  Click to Access: Julia for Data Analysis 

Pandas

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on Pandas here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Pandas for Everyone: Python Data Analysis, 2nd Edition  Click to Access: Hands-On Data Analysis with Pandas - Second Edition 

Python

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on Python here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Python Crash Course, 3rd Edition  Click to Access: Python for Data Analysis, 3rd Edition  Click to Access: Data Structures & Algorithms in Python  Click to Access: Data Engineering with Python  Click to Access: Intro to Python for Computer Science and Data Science: Learning to Program with AI, Big Data and The Cloud 

R

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on R here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: R for Data Science, 2nd Edition  Click to Access: Machine Learning with R - Fourth Edition  Click to Access: Data Wrangling with R  Click to Access: Beginning Data Science in R 4: Data Analysis, Visualization, and Modelling for the Data Scientist 

Scala

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on Scala here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Scala for the Impatient, 3rd Edition  Click to Access: Data Engineering with Scala and Spark  Click to Access: Functional Programming in Scala, Second Edition 

SQL

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on SQL here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Learning SQL, 3rd Edition  Click to Access: SQL for Data Analysis  Click to Access: SQL for Data Scientists 

 

Tableau

See O'Reilly's collection of books and videos on Tableau here.

Click an image below to get started with one of our top picks for this topic.

Click to Access: Mastering Tableau 2023 - Fourth Edition  Click to Access: Data Modeling with Tableau  Click to Access: Visual Data Storytelling with Tableau, First edition