LibGuides: DIS-9300A Data Collection and Analysis v1: Home

DIS-9300A: Data Collection and Analysis

Welcome to the NU Library Guide for DIS-9300A.

Resources are included within the Lessons of your course and below are common resources you may need as you progress. Your Chair may also provide you with additional resources specific to your study.

Weekly Progress Update Form: Past, Present, and Future
Use this document to provide your Chair an update each week you are not ready to submit a milestone for review. Submit this to the Dropbox once completed. Contact your Chair with any questions.
Data Collection Verification Form
Example of a Data Collection Verification Form

Chapter 4: Home
Dissertation Center. (2024). Chapter 4: Home. National University.
On this page within the Dissertation Center, scroll down to the heading titled 'IRB Data Collection Closure' to also access the Data Collection Verification Form and example.
Working Ahead Guidelines
Dissertation Center. (2024). Working ahead guidelines. National University.
Expanding Approaches for Research: Understanding and Using Trustworthiness in Qualitative Research
Stahl, N. A., & King, J. R. (2020). Expanding approaches for research: Understanding and using trustworthiness in qualitative research. Journal of Developmental Education, 44(1), 26-28.
Trustworthiness of Qualitative Data
Trustworthiness of Qualitative Data. National University Dissertation Center

This university resource will help you understand NU dissertation definitions/standards of trustworthiness.
Research Quality
Lund Research Ltd. (2012). Research quality. Laerd Dissertation.
Statistics Resources
Academic Success Center. (2024). Statistics resources. National University.
The Dissertation Marathon
National University GSSC (Producer). (2022). The dissertation marathon [Video file].

IRB Application, Pre-Application Steps, the Application Process, and Application Specifics
National University GSSC. (2024, January 18). IRB Application, pre-application steps, the application process, and application specifics [Video file].

Qualitative Resources for Data Analysis

Data Collection and Analysis Software
Dissertation Center. (2024). Data collection and analysis software. National University.
This link takes you to the Chapter 4 home page within the Dissertation Center. Scroll down to the section titled "Data Collection and Analysis Software" to find instructions on how to download NVivo.
Qualitative Data Analysis Tips and Strategies
Graduate Studies Support Center. (2023, March). Qualitative data analysis tips and strategies. National University.
Data Collection and Analysis Software
Academic Success Center. (2024). Data collection and analysis software. National University.
Analysis and Coding Example for Qualitative Data
Academic Success Center. (2024). Analysis and coding example: Qualitative data. National University.
Thematic Data Analysis in Qualitative Design
Academic Success Center. (2024). Thematic data analysis in qualitative design. National University.
NVivo Basics: A Strong Start for Qualitative Data Analysis
National University GSSC. (2023, June 1). NVivo basics: A strong start for qualitative data analysis [Video file].

Analyzing Your Dissertation’s Qualitative Data
National University GSSC. (2024, February 26). Analyzing your dissertation's qualitative data [Video file].

Quantitative Resources for Data Analysis

Data Collection and Analysis Software
Dissertation Center. (2024). Data collection and analysis software. National University.
This link takes you to the Chapter 4 home page within the Dissertation Center. Scroll down to the section titled "Data Collection and Analysis Software" to find instructions on how to download SPSS.
Quantitative Data Analysis Tips and Strategies
Graduate Studies Support Center. (2022, December). Quantitative data analysis tips and strategies. National University.
Statistics Resources
Academic Success Center. (2024). Statistics resources. National University.
Statistics Basics
Academic Success Center. (2024). Statistics basics. National University.
Accessing SPSS
Academic Success Center. (2024). Accessing SPSS. National University.
SPSS Tutorials
Academic Success Center. (2024). SPSS-tutorials. National University.