Communities of scholars, researchers, or professionals engage in sustained discourse with new insights and discoveries occurring over time as a result of varied perspectives and interpretations.
Research in scholarly and professional fields is a discursive practice in which ideas are formulated, debated, and weighed against one another over extended periods of time. Instead of seeking discrete answers to complex problems, experts understand that a given issue may be characterized by several competing perspectives as part of an ongoing conversation in which information users and creators come together and negotiate meaning. Experts understand that, while some topics have established answers through this process, a query may not have a single uncontested answer. Experts are therefore inclined to seek out many perspectives, not merely the ones with which they are familiar. These perspectives might be in their own discipline or profession or may be in other fields. While novice learners and experts at all levels can take part in the conversation, established power and authority structures may influence their ability to participate and can privilege certain voices and information. Developing familiarity with the sources of evidence, methods, and modes of discourse in the field assists novice learners to enter the conversation. New forms of scholarly and research conversations provide more avenues in which a wide variety of individuals may have a voice in the conversation. Providing attribution to relevant previous research is also an obligation of participation in the conversation. It enables the conversation to move forward and strengthens one’s voice in the conversation.
Engaging with Information Literacy - Scholarship as Conversation Webinar
Presents lesson plans grounded in theory and the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. These six volumes provide explanations of the ACRL Frames, various learning theory, pedagogy, and instructional strategies, and how they are used to inform the development of information literacy lesson plans and learning activities. NOTE: The NU Library does not provide access to this resource
Threshold concepts are transformative, integrative, irreversible, bounded, and troublesome, and can be a valuable tool in both facilitating students' understanding of their subject and aiding in curriculum development within the disciplines. This volume explores threshold concepts as an idea and the specifics of what the concepts look like in disciplinary contexts.
Decodes the Framework for Information Literacy and its six threshold concepts, offering practical advice and suggestions as to how to help students get started on the road to information literacy, and more than 5 classroom-ready Framework-based exercises that address each threshold concept at the beginner level, scaffolding to the intermediate level.
Teaching Information Literacy Threshold Concepts: Lesson Plans for Librarians is a collection designed by instruction librarians to promote critical thinking and engaged learning. It provides teaching librarians detailed, ready-to-use, and easily adaptable lesson ideas to help students understand and be transformed by information literacy threshold concepts. The lessons in this book, created by teaching librarians across the country, are categorized according to the six information literacy frames identified in the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education (2015). This volume offers concrete and specific ways of teaching the threshold concepts that are central to the ACRL Framework and is suitable for all types of academic libraries, high school libraries, as well as a pedagogical tool for library and information schools. NOTE: The NU Library does not provide access to this resource.
Teaching Information Literacy through Short Stories examines information literacy themes through 18 short stories. The book provides librarians and instructors a fresh approach to introduce, accompany, and supplement their teaching. NOTE: The NU Library does not provide access to this resource.
Studying Students: A Second Look presents the results of further ethnographic projects within the University of Rochester's River Campus Libraries. Topics range from how college students "learn the ropes" to their use of technology and how they study and write their research papers. NOTE: The NU Library does not provide access to this resource.
Cameron, A. (2019). Scaffolding self-direction with the ACRL framework: A reflection-based approach. Partnership: The Canadian Journal of Library & Information Practice & Research, 14(2), 1 - 15. doi: 10.21083/partnership.v14i2.4529
Guth, L.F., Arnold, J.M., Bielat, V.E., Perez-Stable, M.A., & Vander Meer, P.F. (2018). Faculty voices on the framework: Implications for instruction and dialogue. Portal - Libraries and the Academy, 18(4), 693-718. doi: 10.1353/pla.2018.0041
Willson, G., & Angell, K. (2017). Mapping the Association of College and Research Libraries information literacy framework and nursing professional standards onto an assessment rubric. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 105(2), 150-154. doi: 10.5195/jmla.2017.39
McClellan, S., Detmering, R., Martinez, G., & Johnson, A. M. (2017). Raising the library's impact factor: A case study in scholarly publishing literacy for graduate students. Portal - Libraries and the Academy, 17(3), 543-568. doi: 10.1353/pla.2017.0034
Rowland, N., Knapp, J. A., & Fargo, H. (2019). Learning 'scholarship as conversation' by writing book reviews. Scholarship and Practice of Undergraduate Research, 2(3), 20 - 27. doi: 10.18833/spur/2/3/6
Wilkinson, L. (2016). Revisiting the framework: Is scholarship a conversation?. [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://senseandreference.wordpress.com/2016/08/12/revisiting-the-framework-is-scholarship-a-conversation/
Berg, J. (2015). Scholarship as conversation: The response to the Framework for Information Literacy. [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://acrlog.org/2015/01/21/scholarship-as-conversation-the-response-to-the-framework-for-information-literacy/
Content: Global student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It is the database of record for graduate research, with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.
Content: Scholarly journals, e-books, videos and more.
Purpose: A key multidisciplinary database for most topics. It is one of the library’s main search engines and the most comprehensive single search.
Note: Certain library databases and publisher content are not searchable in NavigatorSearch, and individual databases may need to be searched to retrieve information due to unique content. NavigatorSearch can be found at https://resources.nu.edu.
Join Librarian Sherry Mohr for an in depth look at Web of Knowledge, a great research tool for discovering seminal and high impact articles as well as determining whether more research exists on your topic. This engaging, skill-building session will dive deep into the world of topic searching, seminal research, and building citation maps. Go beyond basic keyword searching to discover the endless possibilities. Come prepared to share your questions and learn from Sherry and your fellow peers.
Allows for searching, browsing, and contributing to a repository of materials related to the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Results filtered by frame under Information Literacy Frame(s) Addressed.
Allows for searching, browsing, and contributing to a repository of materials related to the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Results filtered by "Scholarship as Conversation."