Searching for information is often nonlinear and iterative, requiring the evaluation of a range of information sources and the mental flexibility to pursue alternate avenues as new understanding develops.
The act of searching often begins with a question that directs the act of finding needed information. Encompassing inquiry, discovery, and serendipity, searching identifies both possible relevant sources as well as the means to access those sources. Experts realize that information searching is a contextualized, complex experience that affects, and is affected by, the cognitive, affective, and social dimensions of the searcher. Novice learners may search a limited set of resources, while experts may search more broadly and deeply to determine the most appropriate information within the project scope. Likewise, novice learners tend to use few search strategies, while experts select from various search strategies, depending on the sources, scope, and context of the information need.
Engaging with Information Literacy - Search as Strategic Exploration Webinar
Explores threshold concepts as an idea and the specifics of what concepts contained in the Framework look like in disciplinary contexts. Provides a theoretical and practical balance to help readers conceptually and pragmatically with their work in supporting student learning, including chapters in which librarians have designed learning outcomes aligned with the frames of the Framework.
Provides approachable explanations of the ACRL Frames, various learning theory, pedagogy, and instructional strategies, and how they are used to inform the development of information literacy lesson plans and learning activities. NOTE: The NU Library does not subscribe to this resource.
Provides a critical examination of our everyday mobile technologies and the effects that they have on our thoughts and behaviors.Presents a comprehensive view of smartphones: the research behind the uses and gratifications of smartphones, the obstacles they present, the opportunities they afford, and how everyone can achieve a healthy, technological balance.
Decodes the Framework for Information Literacy and its six threshold concepts, offering practical advice and suggestions as to how to help students get started on the road to information literacy, and more than 5 classroom-ready Framework-based exercises that address each threshold concept at the beginner level, scaffolding to the intermediate level.
Mills, J., Wiley, C., & Williams, J. (2019). "This is what learning looks like!": Backward design and the framework in first year writing. Portal: Libraries and the Academy, 19(1), 155-175. doi:10.1353/pla.2019.0008
Lehner-Quam, A., & Pitts, W. (2019). Exploring innovative ways to incorporate the Association of College and Research Libraries Framework in graduate science teacher education eportfolio projects. New Review of Academic Librarianship, 25(2-4), 357-380. doi: 0.1080/13614533.2019.1621186
Wishkoski, R., Lundstrom, K., & David, E. (2018). Librarians in the lead: A case for interdisciplinary faculty collaboration on assignment design. Communications in Information Literacy, 12(2), 166-192. doi: 10.15760/comminfolit.2018.12.2.7
Yevelson-Shorsher, A., & Bronstein, J. (2018). Three perspectives on information literacy in academia: Talking to librarians, faculty, and students. College & Research Libraries, 79(4), 535-553. doi: 10.5860/crl.79.3.535
Content: Scholarly journals, e-books, videos and more.
Purpose: A key multidisciplinary database for most topics. It is one of the library’s main search engines and the most comprehensive single search.
Note: Certain library databases and publisher content are not searchable in NavigatorSearch, and individual databases may need to be searched to retrieve information due to unique content. NavigatorSearch can be found at https://resources.nu.edu.
Content: Global student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It is the database of record for graduate research, with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.
This engaging, skill-building session will dive deep into database search techniques. Go beyond basic keyword searching to mastering Boolean operators, truncation, phrases, subject terms, field codes, and proximity. Come prepared to share your questions and learn from Amanda and your fellow peers.
This one-hour session will provide you with the ins-and-outs of Roadrunner, the NU Library’s unified search engine. As a research discovery tool, Roadrunner provides you with access to scholarly content and resources on a single search platform. Build your understanding while uncovering Roadrunner’s features and recognizing how search results are populated and ranked. Explore additional tools for more efficient and effective searching within the interface.
These one-on-one sessions provide students with the opportunity to learn how to conduct research, find relevant resources, and explore ways to effectively build upon knowledge within their fields of study. Sessions are personalized toward student needs and provide students with the insight and tools needed for successfully completely assignment and establishing a research routine.
Allows for searching, browsing, and contributing to a repository of materials related to the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Results filtered by "Searching as Strategic Exploration" under Information Literacy Frame(s) Addressed.
Allows for searching, browsing, and contributing to a repository of materials related to the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Results filtered by "Searching as Strategic Exploration."