Research is iterative and depends upon asking increasingly complex or new questions whose answers in turn develop additional questions or lines of inquiry in any field.
Experts see inquiry as a process that focuses on problems or questions in a discipline or between disciplines that are open or unresolved. Experts recognize the collaborative effort within a discipline to extend the knowledge in that field. Many times, this process includes points of disagreement where debate and dialogue work to deepen the conversations around knowledge. This process of inquiry extends beyond the academic world to the community at large, and the process of inquiry may focus upon personal, professional, or societal needs. The spectrum of inquiry ranges from asking simple questions that depend upon basic recapitulation of knowledge to increasingly sophisticated abilities to refine research questions, use more advanced research methods, and explore more diverse disciplinary perspectives. Novice learners acquire strategic perspectives on inquiry and a greater repertoire of investigative methods.
Engaging with Information Literacy - Research as Inquiry Webinar
Godbey, S. (2017). Action research as inquiry for education students. In S. Godbey, S. Wainscott, & X. Goodman (Eds.), Disciplinary applications of information literacy threshold concepts (pp. 223-235). Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries.
Watkins, A. (2017). Teaching with threshold concepts and the ACRL Framework in the art and design context. In P. Glassman & J. Dyki (Eds.), The handbook of art and design librarianship (2nd ed.). London: Facet Publishing.
Johnson, B., & McCracken, I. (2016). Reading for integration, identifying Complementary threshold concepts: The ACRL Framework in conversation with naming what we know: Threshold concepts of writing studies. Communications in Information Literacy, 10(2), 178-198.
Gregory, L., & Higgins, S. (2017). Reorienting an information literacy program toward social justice: Mapping the core values of librarianship to the ACRL Framework. Communications in Information Literacy, 11(1), 42-54.
A new community in the NU Commons to learn about and share strategies and insight on all things related to research and resources. Score updates on NU Library happenings and get weekly training tidbits to strengthen research skills. Connect with NU Library staff and engage with fellow peers through conversation.
Content: A reference database useful for accessing scholarly definitions, background and contextual information. Subjects covered include art, biography, business, economics, education, history, literature, music, psychology, religion, and science and technology.
Purpose: An excellent starting point for brainstorming a research topic and building out your initial search terms list.
Special Features: Mindmap; related articles; image search
Content: Scholarly journals, e-books, videos and more.
Purpose: A key multidisciplinary database for most topics. It is one of the library’s main search engines and the most comprehensive single search.
Note: Certain library databases and publisher content are not searchable in NavigatorSearch, and individual databases may need to be searched to retrieve information due to unique content. NavigatorSearch can be found at https://resources.nu.edu.
Skill-building series designed for doctoral students. Attendees will learn how to effectively locate, evaluate, and use information relating to a dissertation research topic. Sessions include “Finding & Staying Current on a Research Topic” and “Literature Gap & Future Research” among others.
A one-on-one session with a Reference Librarian that provides in-depth, high-level, and customized research assistance. Areas of assistance include developing a search strategy; identifying relevant databases and journals; discovering alternative search terms for a topic; and narrowing search results.
Allows for searching, browsing, and contributing to a repository of materials related to the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. Results filtered by "Authority is Constructed and Contextual" under Information Literacy Frame(s) Addressed.