Skip to Main Content

Legal Writing Resources

This guide contains all of the ASC's legal writing resources.

Federal Circuit Map

Circuit Courts

  • 1st Cir.: Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, and Rhode Island
  • 2nd Cir.: Connecticut, New York, and Vermont
  • 3rd Cir.: Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, and Virgin Islands
  • 4th Cir.: Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina
  • 5th Cir.: Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas
  • 6th Cir.: Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee
  • 7th Cir.: Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin
  • 8th Cir.: Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, and Nebraska
  • 9th Cir.: Alaska, Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and Northern Mariana Islands
  • 10th Cir.: Oklahoma, New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming, and Utah. Plus portions of Yellow Stone Park that extend into Montana and Idaho.
  • 11th Cir.: Alabama, Florida, and Georgia
  • Fed. Cir.: This court has nationwide jurisdiction over international trade, government contracts, patents, trademarks, certain money claims against the U.S. government, federal personnel, veterans’ benefits, and public safety officers’ benefit claims.
  • D.C. Cir.: District of Columbia. This court has jurisdiction over the U.S. Congress and many of the US government agencies. Because of its jurisdiction over government agencies, the D.C. Circuit is regarded as the most powerful of the federal circuit courts.