FIN-7012 v1

Sarwary, Z. (2019). Capital budgeting techniques in SMEs: A literature review. Journal of Accounting & Finance (2158-3625), 19(3), 97–114. https://doi-org.proxy1.ncu.edu/10.33423/jaf.v19i3.2035
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fsearch.ebscohost.com%2Flogin.aspx%3Fdirect%3Dtrue%26db%3Dbth%26AN%3D137673155%26authtype%3Dsso%26custid%3Dnatuniv%26site%3Deds-live%26scope%3Dsite%26custid%3Dnatuniv
Students should read "Capital budgeting techniques in SMEs: A literature review" by Sarwary in the Journal of Accounting & Finance because it provides valuable insights into capital budgeting practices specifically tailored to small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). Understanding capital budgeting techniques is crucial for students studying finance or business administration as it forms the basis for investment decision-making within organizations. This literature review explores various capital budgeting methods and their applicability in SMEs, offering students a comprehensive overview of the challenges and opportunities associated with investment evaluation in smaller firms. By examining the findings and recommendations presented in the article, students can gain a deeper understanding of how SMEs approach capital budgeting decisions, enabling them to apply this knowledge in real-world scenarios or entrepreneurial ventures. Additionally, the article contributes to the broader understanding of financial management in SMEs and provides valuable insights for practitioners, policymakers, and researchers interested in this area.

Brincks, S., Haddad, K. M., Lotfaliei, B., & Trombley, T. E. (2020). A Synthesis of Capital Budgeting Techniques Around the World: 1990-2018. Quarterly Journal of Finance & Accounting, 58(4), 105–130. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=bth&AN=153546254&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Students should read "A Synthesis of Capital Budgeting Techniques Around the World: 1990-2018" by Brincks et al. in the Quarterly Journal of Finance & Accounting because it provides a comprehensive overview of capital budgeting practices globally over nearly three decades. Understanding capital budgeting techniques is essential for students studying finance or business administration as it forms the basis for investment decision-making within organizations. This synthesis explores various capital budgeting methods used by companies worldwide, shedding light on the trends, challenges, and best practices in investment evaluation. By examining the findings presented in the article, students can gain insights into the evolution of capital budgeting techniques, their applicability across different industries and regions, and the factors influencing their adoption. Additionally, the article offers valuable implications for practitioners, policymakers, and researchers interested in optimizing capital budgeting processes and improving investment decision-making in organizations.

Sureka, R., Kumar, S., Colombage, S., & Abedin, M. Z. (2022). Five decades of research on capital budgeting – A systematic review and future research agenda. Research in International Business and Finance, 60.
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com%2Fscience%2Farticle%2Fpii%2FS0275531921002300
Students should read "Five decades of research on capital budgeting – A systematic review and future research agenda" because it offers a comprehensive overview of the research conducted in capital budgeting over the past fifty years. This systematic review provides valuable insights into the evolution of capital budgeting techniques, trends, and areas of focus in academic research. By understanding the historical development of capital budgeting practices and the current state of research, students can gain a deeper appreciation for the complexities and challenges involved in investment decision-making. Additionally, the future research agenda outlined in the study can guide students interested in exploring new avenues and contributing to the advancement of capital budgeting theory and practice. Overall, this article serves as a valuable resource for students studying corporate finance, investment analysis, and financial management.

Managing the pandemic’s financial challenges. (2020). [Video/DVD] CBC - Business. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fvideo.alexanderstreet.com%2Fp%2FK87zqMnx8
Students should watch "Managing the pandemic’s financial challenges" because it provides valuable insights into how businesses are navigating the financial challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic. As the pandemic has significantly impacted global economies, understanding how businesses are responding and adapting to these challenges is crucial for students studying finance, economics, and business management. The video likely covers topics such as financial planning, cost-cutting measures, government assistance programs, and strategic decision-making during times of crisis. By watching this video, students can gain practical knowledge and real-world examples of financial management strategies employed by businesses to survive and thrive in uncertain times. This firsthand perspective will enhance students' understanding of financial management principles and their application in challenging business environments.

Sage Knowledge. (2019). How to find capital [Video]. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fsk.sagepub.com%2Fvideo%2Fhow-to-find-capital
Students should watch "How to find capital" from Sage Knowledge because it provides valuable insights into the process of raising capital, which is essential for any business or finance student. Understanding how companies secure funding is crucial for various career paths, including entrepreneurship, corporate finance, and investment banking. This video offers practical guidance on the different sources of capital, such as debt financing, equity financing, and venture capital. It also discusses the advantages and disadvantages of each funding option and provides tips for entrepreneurs and managers seeking capital for their projects or businesses. By watching this video, students can learn about the strategies and considerations involved in accessing capital, which is fundamental to the success of any business venture or investment opportunity.

Pagano, M., & Zechner, J. (2022). COVID-19 and Corporate Finance. Review of Corporate Finance Studies, 11(4), 849–879. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=bth&AN=159850139&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=natuniv
Students should read "COVID-19 and Corporate Finance" by Pagano and Zechner because it offers valuable insights into the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on corporate finance. This article is particularly relevant for students studying finance, economics, and business management as it provides an in-depth analysis of how businesses have been affected by the pandemic and how they have adapted their financial strategies in response. By reading this article, students can gain a better understanding of the challenges faced by corporations during the pandemic, including disruptions in supply chains, changes in consumer behavior, and financial market volatility. Additionally, the article discusses various corporate finance responses to the crisis, such as capital raising, liquidity management, and risk mitigation strategies. Overall, this resource offers valuable lessons and perspectives on corporate finance in times of crisis, which can help students develop their analytical skills and strategic thinking abilities.

Phadke, S. (2020). “Fintech is all around us.” In FinTech Future: The Digital DNA of Finance (First Edition ed., pp. 2-9). SAGE Publications Pvt Ltd, https://go.openathens.net/redirector/nu.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fsk.sagepub.com%2Fbooks%2Ffintech-future%2Fi128.xml
Students should read "Fintech is all around us" by Phadke because it provides valuable insights into the rapidly evolving landscape of financial technology (fintech). This resource is particularly relevant for students interested in finance, technology, and entrepreneurship as it offers a comprehensive overview of key concepts, trends, and innovations shaping the fintech industry. By reading this chapter, students can ain a deeper understanding of how fintech is transforming traditional financial services, including banking, payments, lending, and investments. The chapter explores various fintech innovations such as blockchain, artificial intelligence, mobile banking, and digital currencies, providing examples and case studies to illustrate their impact. Additionally, the resource discusses the challenges and opportunities presented by fintech, as well as its implications for financial inclusion, regulation, and cybersecurity. Overall, this chapter offers valuable knowledge and insights that can help students stay informed about the latest developments in fintech and prepare for careers in finance or technology-driven industries.

National University Academic Success Center. (n.d.). APA style 7th edition overview.
This website provides a quick overview of APA 7th edition writing requirements.

NU Academic Success Center. (n.d.). Learning about synthesis analysis.
This page from the NU Academic Success Center includes three tabs for learning what synthesis and analysis mean, how to synthesize and analyze, and opportunities to practice with additional handouts and workshops.