PSY-5401 v1

Society for Industrial/Organizational Psychology. (n.d.). Psychology at work: What do I/O psychologists really do?
This website introduces the field of Industrial/Organizational (I/O) Psychology and describes what I/O professionals do.

American Psychological Association (n.d.). Pursuing a career in I/O psychology.
This website discusses careers in I/O Psychology for the perspective of the American Psychological Association (APA).

Society for Industrial/Organizational Psychology. (n.d.). Industrial and organizational psychology.
This resource introduces the Society of Industrial/Organizational Psychology (SIOP) and describes the importance I/O field.

Zelin, A. I., Lider, M., Doverspike, D., Oliver, J., & Trusty, M. (2014). Competencies and experiences critical for entry-level success for Industrial-organizational psychologists. Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 7(1), 65-71.
This resource describes the competencies needed for success as a new I/O professional.

Zelin, A. I., Oliver, J., Chau, S., Bynum, B., Carter, G., Poteet, M. L., & Doverspike, D. (2015). Identifying the competencies, critical experiences, and career paths of I-O psychologists: Consulting. TIP: The Industrial-Organizational Psychologist, 52(4), 122–130.
This resource describes the competencies and experiences needed for a successful career as an I/O consultant.

Zelin, A. I., Doverspike, D., Oliver, J., Chau, S., Bynum, B., Carter, G., & Poteet, M. L. (2015). Identifying the competencies, critical experiences, and career paths of I-O psychologists: Industry. TIP: The Industrial-Organizational Psychologist, 53(1), 142–151.
This resource describes the competencies and experiences needed for a successful career as an I/O industry practitioner.

Byrne, Z. (2017). Careers for industrial and organizational psychologists. In The SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2nd edition (Vol. 4, pp. 160-162). SAGE Publications, Inc.
This brief encyclopedia entry describes the types of careers available to individuals with an MS in I/O Psychology.

Horn, Z., & Chambers, R. (2017). Tips for getting an internship. In The SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2nd edition (Vol. 4, pp. 1629-1631). SAGE Publications, Inc.
This brief encyclopedia entry provides helpful tips for obtaining an internship in I/O psychology.

Poteet, M. (2017). Preparing for careers in industrial and organizational psychology practice. In The SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2nd edition (Vol. 4, pp. 1249-1252). SAGE Publications, Inc.
This brief encyclopedia entry provides helpful tips for preparing for a career as an I/O professional.

Dipboye, R. L. (2018). The emerald review of industrial and organizational psychology. Emerald Publishing Limited.
Please read the Appendix: What is I/O Psychology? This resource provides a more detailed description of the I/O psychology field. It’s also a good resource for students to refer back to throughout the PSY-5401 course and the MS I/O program.