PSY-5404 V3

Hock, R. A., & Preston, D. S. (2023). Career and personnel testing. In Salem press encyclopedia of health.
This resource is important to review because it provides a discussion of how vocational interest inventories and aptitude tests are used in career and personnel testing.

Xu, H. (2023). Vocational interests: Conceptual issues, research findings, and practical implications. In W. B. Walsh, L. Y. Flores, P. J. Hartung, & F. T. L. Leong (Eds.), Career psychology: Models, concepts, and counseling for meaningful employment (pp. 145–167). American Psychological Association.
This handbook chapter includes helpful information regarding vocational interest inventories including research findings and practitioner implications for their use in career counseling.

Jones, K. S., Newman, D. A., Su, R., & Rounds, J. (2022). Vocational interests and adverse impact: How attraction and selection on vocational interests relate to adverse impact potential. Journal of Applied Psychology, 107(4), 604–627.
This scholarly article is useful to review because it provides a discussion of how use of vocational interest inventories in recruitment and selection context may have adverse impact.

Wegmeyer, L. J., & Speer, A. B. (2022). Understanding, detecting, and deterring faking on interest inventories. International Journal of Selection & Assessment, 30(4), 562–578.
This scholarly article is useful to review because it provides a discussion regarding the influence of faking, or response distortion, on vocational interest inventories.

Merritt, R. D. (2021). Aptitude testing. Salem Press Encyclopedia.
This summary resource includes helpful information regarding aptitude tests including research findings and practitioner implications for their use.

National Center for O*NET Development. Career exploration tools. (n.d.). O*NET Resource Center.