PSY-5403 v1

Furnham, A. (2017). The contribution of others’ methods in recruitment and selection: Biodata, references, résumés and CVs. In H.W. Goldstein, E.D. Pulakos, J. Passmore, & C. Semedo (Eds.), The Wiley Blackwell handbook of the psychology of recruitment, selection and employee retention. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118972472.ch10https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118972472.ch10

O’Leary, R.S., Forsman, J.W., & Isaacson, J. A. (2017). The role of simulation exercises in selection. In H.W. Goldstein, E.D. Pulakos, J. Passmore, & C. Semedo (Eds.), The Wiley Blackwell handbook of the psychology of recruitment, selection and employee retention. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118972472.ch12

• This handbook chapter provides a review of research and best practices in using simulation exercise (e.g., situation judgment tests, work samples, and assessment centers) in the personnel selection process.

Salgado, J. F. (2017). Using ability tests in selection. In H.W. Goldstein, E.D. Pulakos, J. Passmore, & C. Semedo (Eds.), The Wiley Blackwell handbook of the psychology of recruitment, selection and employee retention. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. hhttps://doi.org/10.1002/9781118972472.ch7

• This handbook chapter provides a review of research and best practices in using cognitive ability tests in the personnel selection process.

Blackman, M. (2017). Using interviews in selection. In H.W. Goldstein, E.D. Pulakos, J. Passmore, & C. Semedo (Eds.), The Wiley Blackwell handbook of the psychology of recruitment, selection and employee retention. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118972472.ch9

• This handbook chapter provides a review of research and best practices in using interviews in the personnel selection process.

Hughes, D. J., & Batey, M. (2017). Using personality questionnaires for selection. In H.W. Goldstein, E.D. Pulakos, J. Passmore, & C. Semedo (Eds.), The Wiley Blackwell handbook of the psychology of recruitment, selection and employee retention. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118972472.ch8

• This handbook chapter provides a review of research and best practices in using personality assessment in the personnel selection process.

To complete Assignment 1, use the following PowerPoint resources.

Scherbaum, D.A., DeNunzio, M.M., Oliveira, J., & Ignagni, M. (2017). Race and cultural differences in predictors commonly used in employee selection and assessment. In H.W. Goldstein, E.D. Pulakos, J. Passmore, & C. Semedo (Eds.), The Wiley Blackwell handbook of the psychology of recruitment, selection and employee retention. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118972472.ch19

• This handbook chapter describes the race and cultural differences amongst the predictors most commonly used in the personnel selection process.